We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base, clean and modern”
Review of Ashtons Townhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashtons Townhouse
Ranked #30 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here with a large bunch of friends. I found it to be clean, modern and spacious. Large kitchen, communal area and sitting room. Unfortunately, I left a recently purchased Rough Guide to Ireland behind me. Dropped an e-mail when I realised it was missing and they found it and posted back to me without asking for payment - so definitely in my good books.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Breezy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Booked a few days before staying there. Very competitive price compared to other accomodation in the area,in April. Seemed too good to be true, we took a chance. Triple room 45 euro per night...
Well, would definitely book there again, very clean, modern and handy. Five mns walk from pubs and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful reception. Pictures of townhouse showed on tripadvisor very accurate.
Cannot comment on breakfast, we had it in town.
Tip: breakfast at Walsh's bakery and coffee shop very nice. homemade stuff and lovely views in the back.
For lunch, Mitchell's is beautiful. great seafood chowder, among other things. Dinner great too, pricey enough, but restaurant seems always full...
For local/ Trad must try Lowry's.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for a night in October 2010 having spent the day in the area.

We had booked single rooms but found that these were not available so we were happy to accept a twin and triple room instead.

These were comfortable and spacious with all bedding etc. in good condition. The guesthouse seems to be purpose built so while it doesn't have the atmosphere of a family home it does have space and privacy which might be lacking in a smaller building.

The owner of the guest house was very friendly, cooks a decent breakfast and offered advice on local attactions we might take in on our return journey home.

The bars and restaurants etc. were about a four minute walk away and parking is right outside the door.

All in all I would recommend this as a good value, comfortable place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coalshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We checked in quite late (around 18:00) and for a moment had to look for the reception area. After that, though, we found the proprietor who greeted us warmly, service was direct and hassle-free. Accommodation was brilliantly clean, comfortable beds and modern decor. The bathroom was compact, yet spotlessly clean.
Tomas gave us brilliant recommendations of the locality, i.e. places of interest, eating places, etc.
Breakfast was hearty, and a service with a smile was practiced at all times.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Druusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

upon arrival at 5pm we were told to come back in hour room wasn't ready. No apology. When we checked in the room looked okay, good size and was clean. We stayed for 4 nights and the room wasn't cleaned once not even to empty the bin. The breakfast was absolutely foul totally unedible. Either the fried egg floating in grease was stone cold as were the sausages and the bacon was practillay raw and cold. One teabag in a large pot for four cups. No matter how many times you asked for more teabags etc, re-heat etc the same was served up the next day It was like groundhog day. The location was okay but never again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre n°10 ,claire, très calme, au 1 étage qui ne donne pas sur la rue principale, mais sur un en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danymi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
461 reviews
4.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.6 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtons Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtons Townhouse

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashtons Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing