We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Clifden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sharamore House B&B
Ranked #8 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you want to experience Irish Bed & Breakfast at its best this is the place to stay.
From the warm welcome to comfortable beds and superb breakfast Sharamore House has it all.
If you want to take a days sea angling then John is the perfect Skipper.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay with Sue and John and definitely would return.
Tom & Mary McGann

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sue and John were great host, they provided helpful travel tips and dedicated us a lot of time to make us feel at home. Our bedroom had a beautiful look and breakfast was excellent, best pancakes in Ireland and the luxury of eating fish personally fished by Jhn and smoked by them. Recommended with no reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teuton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sharamore House is a wonderful place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Sue is a welcoming host and sorted out our evening meal at a local restaurant and was extremely helpful with all aspects of local amenities. We met guests who have returned yearly for approx. 20 yrs and it is easy to say why. The Sharamore is an ideal base from which to explore the delights of the Connemara countryside and if you do not mind losing your breakfast with a day out with John on the Blue Water (fishing boat) it is an experience not to be missed. John is a very knowledgeable skipper who ensured that everyone went away with a memorable catch.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view room with marvellous shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaLenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved the Sharamore House B & B. Sue and John Brittain -owners are so helpful. John is a well known fisherman ......and he can take you out......be sure and check out his wall of catches. Sue helped us identify the best restaraunts in Clifden, side trips, even called taxis for us. Wonderful breakfasts.....smoked salmon - I couldn't get enough. Connemara is a beautiful area.......and Sue and John are wonderful hosts. Our room overlooked the sea......very peaceful.
Thanks Sue & John!
Bill & Lynda, Dallas, TX

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

thanks bill and lynda and we hope the rest of your irish holiday was a success

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Very friendly hosts who have all the information you need on the local area. Great food. A good sized bedroom and shower room. I wouldn't hesitate to book in here again. Clifden only a short drive away for evening meals. Check out the beach café at the very end of Beach Road - excellent quality food at a highly reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and wished we could've stayed longer in beautiful Connemara. John and Sue were fantastic hosts. Great food, excellent advice on what to do and where to go. Thank you John and Sue ! we had a lovely time at your place !

Steph & Stella

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Formidabiliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharamore, General Manager at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

thanks for the nice review! stanley says hello from his giant fish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was one of 4 B&B's I stayed at in Ireland this Summer and by far the best - room, breakfast, service, advice and assistance in itinerary planning. John and Sue insure you are provided all the assistance and direction you may need. The atmosphere is very comforting and leaves you relaxed. If you have plans to see the West side of the Isle I strongly recommend you check with the Sharamore house to see if they have availability, you will not be disappointed. Staying at the Sharamore and enjoying the Connemarra area was the highlight of my trip. If fishing is your game, John insures you get a real value in your fishing expedition. Caught a crazy amount of fish and had a great time seeing sights only accessible by boat. Bring a camera, you will need it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

thank you for your nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Clifden Station House
5.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharamore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharamore House B&B

Address: Streamstown, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $98 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharamore House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet location with beautiful views of surrounding Connemara and the sea, the 4-star Sharamore House is just 5 minutes’ drive from Clifden. Fish caught from the Sharamore's own boat is served at breakfast.Full Irish breakfasts are served each day, and the breakfast menu includes homemade pancakes with fresh fruit, smoked salmon, and Irish cheese. A log burning range and wide-screen satellite TV feature in the lounge area.Maps detailing the numerous nearby scenic walks are available, and guests can enjoy pony trekking within a 5-minute drive of Sharamore House. Roundstone beach can also be reached in 20 minutes by car, and Connemara National Park is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sharamore House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing