We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On balance the best place to dine in Clifden”

Mitchell's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“On balance the best place to dine in Clifden”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is both a daytime and nighttime place to eat.high standard
Excellent quality fresh always packed a really good sign.
Very difficult to rate special occasion cordon blue alongside good value pizzerias but on balance the level here is number one for
Wonderful cuisine that doesn't cost the earth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    305
    83
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were lucky to get a table later in the evening (will try to book next time) and it was certainly worth the wait! I had hake and my partner had the Irish stew, we both agreed it was certainly one of the best meals we have had in a long time even though we live in London and eat out quite often. The staff were friendly and attentive. All in all we had a really lovely evening and it was worth the money. Worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Mitchell's is first and foremost an upscale, high quality restaurant. The service was very professional and timely. The cuisine was very well done and well presented. The menu was quite extensive featuring, as you would expect, seafood dishes. While rather pricey, the night we were there the "early bird" pricing was in effect all evening making our meal a very good value. I would recommend reservations and highly recommend dining at Mitchell's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The night we visited Mitchell's the 'early bird' menu was available all evening which made it good value (otherwise it is a little on the pricey side). Good choice of starters and main courses.

Service is relaxed and casual, dining room is nice. Food was lovely although the deserts were disappointing - tiny meringue with choc and hazelnut sauce or ice cream (from the early bird menu).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
354 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in Clifden”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after strolling around the shops in Clifden. It seemed a nice alternative to the pub grub available in a number of places although a bit pricier. The food was excellent - the Irish Stew and Shepherds pie are particularly good. The staff are pleasant and friendly. Worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing