We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to name and reputation”

Mitchell's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice food but reastruant based on reputation should be much better. Prices are a little high for what u get. Good food, service very good and atmosphere ok. But overpriced for what u get and main course menu was a little limited the night we were there. Overall a good reastruant with good food but nothing to set the place above similar reastruants in the locality. Very close to reflecting prices but just a little off the mark in this reviewers opinion. Would recommend to others

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WestMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 928 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Over the June Bank Holiday this restaurant was booked very heavly its a seasonal restaurant and enjoyed by local residents as well as visitors to clifden. Mitchells offers superb food beautifully cooked and presented with a reasonalbe wine list and a very good pint of Guinness (according to Himself) We have been back again and again to Mitchells, JJ and his staff (the sema for several years) will take care of you and you will not be dissappointed. The food is wholesome and delicious with a distinct homecooked quality - fresh and quality ingredients are evident...beware the portions are quite substantial so save room for desert (the rum raisin Creme Brule is DEVINE!!)

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank 1981mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want good food than Mitchell's is a great spot but don't expect friendly service. The oysters, chowder, sandwich and fish cakes were very good and if you are exploring the area this is a good stop off.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSSBeenThereDoneThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This small restaurant was hopping busy in the afternoon when we arrived, but we managed to get seated quickly. The food was excellent! Service was great. Upstairs, there is extra seating possibly for dinners. A friend recommended it to us and I would definitely recommend it to others!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We timed our day so that we would be coming into Clifden as the sun set on the Sky Road. The view coming into town from the hill was great. I was hoping to eat at Mitchell's based on a friend's recommendation and am so glad we did. I had the monkfish and my traveling companion had the rack of lamb. Both were delicious. As I am not a fan of lamb, for me to say it was delicious means that it was DELICIOUS. The service was nice, as was the ambiance. Mitchell's is a great restaurant in the little village of Clifden. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DawnSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing