We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed My Stay At Gannon's & Would Highly Recommend!”
Review of Gannon's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gannon's B&B
Ranked #29 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Mill Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed My Stay At Gannon's & Would Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was very impressed with Gannon's B&B and the quiet town of Clifden, in which it is located. Gerry and Siobhan were extremely personable hosts and made me feel quite at home. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom both immaculate and modern. The central kitchen and living room area in which guests can all converge was warm and hospitable. Gerry gave me some excellent recommendations to grab a pint of Guinness and for a terrific local meal. He also provided helpful tips of sights to see. The room was fairly priced and I would highly recommend Gannon's B&B to anyone looking to stay in Clifden. Some friends had suggested staying in scenic Clifden over edgy Galway and I am glad that they provided this suggestion.

I hadn't seen the 1-star review prior to my visit. I too went on Booking.com where the cancellation policy is quite clear. It is completely at the B&B owner's prerogative, privilege, and discretion to offer any amount of refund. There must have been some extenuating circumstances around this visit, and we are not getting the other side of the story in this forum. Personally, I wouldn't put too much weighting on it. I am the 38th traveler out of 49 to happily award Gannon's an Excellent rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOnPurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here last week on our way to Connemara .Well it was one of our best choices in all the accommodation we had booked while travelling around Ireland
The owners were excellent , could not do enough for you .
The bedrooms amazing and had the most comfortable bed ever.The best shower too.
There was a wonderful living room you could relax in and the fire was lit as it got a bit chilly in the evening so cosy!!! You had use of the kitchen for making tea coffee etc. and finally the breakfast was one of the best ,my husband loved it.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed a night in Gannon's after the Connemarathon and were delighted with our choice. This centrally located B&B is beautiful and spotlessly clean. It has great facilities including a lovely comfortable living room and fully equiped kitchen.

The continental breakfast the next morning was beautifully displayed and included lovely homemade scones, although no eggs or porridge were available. We thoroughly enjoyed our night and will definitely be staying here again for next years connemarathon!

Thanks again Gerry!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhprume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A friend of mine booked Gannon's for a group of seven of us who were down for the Connemara Marathon. We were immediately impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation. The B&B is nice and central with a great choice of pubs and restaurants on the doorstep. Gerry the owner immediately made us feel welcome and couldn't have been friendlier.

I found the bed very comfortable and the facilities top notch. Breakfast was nice with a big choice, though no option for cooked breakfast.

All in all a great spot and highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms of equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattE294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The B&B is in the centre of town, close to pubs, restaurants and shops. It is a modern building and (lucky us) we were in the owner's apartment. Very spacious, clean and all facilities provided. Nice continental breakfast with plenty of choice including fresh fruit. A surprise for us as this week was the annual arts festival with live music and poetry in the pubs and streets, however we were unable to stay longer but did enjoy one evening. Car parking was free in the street between 6pm to 11am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our holiday in Ireland had us visit Clifden and our choice of accommodation could not have been better. We arrived on a drizzly day but Gerry made us very welcome - made us feel like friends rather than 'guests'. The bedroom was big and bright, the living area (complete with comfy lounges and tv) was just the place to sit and put our feet up with a glass of wine. The kitchen/dining was delightful and available for our use if we wished. The continental breakfast was a lovely change from the normal cooked breakfast we had been having everywhere else and the use of a washing machine and dryer was an added bonus. Gannon's B&B is right n the centre of town and there was no problem with parking for our hire car. It was such a beautiful place to stay we were sorry we could only stay one night due to our holiday itinerary. We will be telling everyone about Gannon's B&B - it was simply the best !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group of seven stayed here for 4 days late August. We arrived on a rainy afternoon to find a fire going & flowers on the table. The facility is excellent in all respects from the modern Kitchen to the spacious bedroom. A short walk to anything in the city. Mr. Gannon most accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#12 of 45 in Clifden
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Clifden Bay Hostel
#8 of 15 in Clifden
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arch B&B
The Arch B&B
#27 of 45 in Clifden
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#6 of 15 in Clifden
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gannon's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannon's B&B

Property: Gannon's B&B
Address: Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gannon's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gannon's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing