We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for us”
Review of Gannon's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gannon's B&B
Ranked #29 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this guest house. Our room was large and comfortable, with a massive double bed and a futon bed for our daughter. The use of the spacious living room/kitchen was extremely useful to us (with dishwasher and washing machine) - it meant we could cook the odd dinner, and we didn't have to go to bed as the same time as our toddler. The other family room has a joining room with bunkbeds which seems perfect for those with older children.
It's in the heart of the town and Jerry, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful with information (he even organised a babysitter for us for one evening). I'd recommend this place to anyone with children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had booked this B&B through Booking.com. My friend and I needed to change our plans and cut our trip short at the last minute. We went to him in person and explained. He told us that he would refund our money; we just needed to cancel our booking.com reservation, and he would not go ahead and charge us. We even offered to pay him, or pay half so that we wouldn't both be losing out. He assured us it was fine and that he wouldn't charge us. When I got home, he'd charged my card. When called and questioned him, he just said he'd changed his mind. OK. If you were going to charge us, FINE, BUT don't tell us you are going to let us cancel and not charge us, after we made the specific effort to come out there and let you know we had a change in plans. Don't be a coward. Don't say one thing and then do the other. That is complete crap. Honor your word.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank maplesyrup_usn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thought this was one of the best value places to stay in Ireland! We had the family room, which was okay, but we think the other rooms were perhaps even better. The common sitting room was great with plenty of seating and a full kitchen so you could enjoy a glass of wine and make some snacks. As the B&B is in the centre, you are surrounded by restaurants for an evening meal. The breakfast was absolutely our favourite...European style with yogurts, fruit, muselli, cheese, meats,soda bread, scones, pancakes, juice and coffee...all buffet style. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful red room which is massive and nicely decorated overlooking the back which meant that it was quiet. The bathroom was large with a lovely hot shower and a proper hairdryer and free wi-fi. There is a wonderful kitchen and lounge area that you can also use which I imagine would be brilliant for families. The bed was so comfortable! The location could not be better as its practically on the square in the centre of town. We were given a lovely welcome and enjoyed breakfast which was refreshingly different from the usual fry ups you get. We had toast, pancakes, yoghurts, cereal and the freshest scones I think I've ever had! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Gannon B&B very much. Extremely comfortable beds, with every thing we could possibly need to make us feel truly at home. From the young woman at the Gannon's Sports Store who helped us check in, to the Gannon's Family themselves, as well as the woman who tended to our rooms and breakfast (which was very good by the way), every one made us feel welcome and comfortable. The location is ideal for exploring Clifden, we have stayed in Clifden 2 other times and this was by far the best accommodations we have found to date. There was a kitchen and living area that we were happy to make use of and a lovely fire that Gerry would get going every evening. We loved it here and am quite sure that you will too. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at Gannon's for two nights in September 2012, and what a pleasant experience! Room 3 is large, immaculate, beautiful, and very comfortable. We arrived early but Gerry the owner welcomed us and let us go ahead and check in. Throughout our stay, he was the perfect host, and is one of the nicest, most gracious people we have dealt with on our three trips to Ireland - and that is saying something in a country where the people are as a rule so great to deal with! Staff is great, too, with no exception. The shower here was the best on our entire trip - great water pressure and temperature. As some reviewers have pointed out, the breakfast is more continental than Irish, but that was not a problem for us as we very much enjoyed the selection of cheeses, fresh scones, fruit, jams, etc. And the place settings/dishware were beautiful. The B&B is upstairs from Gerry's sport shop, right in the heart of the wonderful town of Clifden, so it was convenient to the pubs, shops, restaurants, etc. but at the same time was quiet and home-like. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Connemara!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had an overnight stay here and found it very good value. TV / Dinner Room was lovely, and as there didn't seem to be many other guests we were able to relax here for a couple of hours.
Breakfast in the morning was a contential style buffet with plenty of all the usuals. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The only downside being a shared bathroom (which was immaculate) and no TV in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.1 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gannon's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannon's B&B

Address: Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $71 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gannon's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gannon's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing