We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gannon's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gannon's B&B
Ranked #30 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful red room which is massive and nicely decorated overlooking the back which meant that it was quiet. The bathroom was large with a lovely hot shower and a proper hairdryer and free wi-fi. There is a wonderful kitchen and lounge area that you can also use which I imagine would be brilliant for families. The bed was so comfortable! The location could not be better as its practically on the square in the centre of town. We were given a lovely welcome and enjoyed breakfast which was refreshingly different from the usual fry ups you get. We had toast, pancakes, yoghurts, cereal and the freshest scones I think I've ever had! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Gannon B&B very much. Extremely comfortable beds, with every thing we could possibly need to make us feel truly at home. From the young woman at the Gannon's Sports Store who helped us check in, to the Gannon's Family themselves, as well as the woman who tended to our rooms and breakfast (which was very good by the way), every one made us feel welcome and comfortable. The location is ideal for exploring Clifden, we have stayed in Clifden 2 other times and this was by far the best accommodations we have found to date. There was a kitchen and living area that we were happy to make use of and a lovely fire that Gerry would get going every evening. We loved it here and am quite sure that you will too. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at Gannon's for two nights in September 2012, and what a pleasant experience! Room 3 is large, immaculate, beautiful, and very comfortable. We arrived early but Gerry the owner welcomed us and let us go ahead and check in. Throughout our stay, he was the perfect host, and is one of the nicest, most gracious people we have dealt with on our three trips to Ireland - and that is saying something in a country where the people are as a rule so great to deal with! Staff is great, too, with no exception. The shower here was the best on our entire trip - great water pressure and temperature. As some reviewers have pointed out, the breakfast is more continental than Irish, but that was not a problem for us as we very much enjoyed the selection of cheeses, fresh scones, fruit, jams, etc. And the place settings/dishware were beautiful. The B&B is upstairs from Gerry's sport shop, right in the heart of the wonderful town of Clifden, so it was convenient to the pubs, shops, restaurants, etc. but at the same time was quiet and home-like. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Connemara!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had an overnight stay here and found it very good value. TV / Dinner Room was lovely, and as there didn't seem to be many other guests we were able to relax here for a couple of hours.
Breakfast in the morning was a contential style buffet with plenty of all the usuals. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The only downside being a shared bathroom (which was immaculate) and no TV in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster,Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the red room on Thurs 9th of August 2012. It is fab so modern, finished to a really high standard. Gerry the owner rang us to warn us that there was a horse/pony fair on in the town and that the town was very busy, very thoughtful of him. Gerry gave us directions and waited outside the B&B for us as we got parking on the street. If we could get parking just down from the B&B in the busiest time of the year then normally there should be no problem for people. The B&B is by the square and there is a sign on the side of Gannon's Sports shop so you can see that from the square. It is very secure in the B&B with a coded door at the entrance. There is a communal fully equipped kitchen which everyone can use. Breakfast was lovely the following morning, homemade scones and jam!! The kitchen is also part living room which everyone can use, would absolutely stay again we had prebooked our next night in Sligo otherwise we would definitely have stayed longer. We are thinking of going back again for the Horse show next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in Clifden for 2 nights in Gannon's B&B and We were delighted with the genuine hospitality of Gerry and his family. Excellent standard of accommodation and great breakfast, cereals, soda bread, jams, yogurt and a selection of cheese and cold meats. We look forward to staying here on our next trip to the beautiful Connemara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiedoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle and Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Clifden is a tiny, charming little town close to the sea and Gannon's B&B adds much to that charm. It's a family run business. The outside of the building isn't so captivating, and you actually check in at the sports clothing shop on the ground floor.

But the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the modern and chic bathrooms are extremely nice, 4-5 star hotel quality with excellent water pressure.

We felt very welcome there and when I made a mistake of booking one night when I meant to book two, the proprietors made absolutely no fuss about working it out so we could stay. They almost made it seem my mistake was their fault, which made me feel even more ridiculous for my error.

Breakfast was continental in nature. Brownbread, cereals, fruit, sliced cured meats, cheeses, and the most delicious yogurt will ever have in your life. Enough to get you up and going to start you day.

It's exactly the kind of experience you want from a B&B in a small town, you feel like you are welcome guests in someone's home and it's a very nice, relaxed, cozy feeling. We even bought four new jackets at the sporting goods shop they also own. They had really nice jackets! Loved this place!

I just saw that another reviewer said they visited the sweets jar many tims in the living room. Glad to know we weren't the only ones. :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattletoamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
#20 of 50 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arch B&B
The Arch B&B
#25 of 50 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingstown House
Kingstown House
#2 of 13 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gannon's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannon's B&B

Property: Gannon's B&B
Address: Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gannon's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gannon's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing