We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive. Overbearing personality. Lack of just leaving you to it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Expensive. Overbearing personality. Lack of just leaving you to it.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The location is excellent. Rooms are fine. Too much singing, chat and bad jokes at the welcome and breakfast. Not enough attention to service at breakfast. We wanted peace but couldn't be left in peace by the landlady. Got ripped off on price over a bank hol wend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AL00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    30
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were immediately greeted by Mary, the owner of the inn. She was very warm and welcoming with her all-kidding-aside Irish humor. The room we stayed at was very clean and cozy. The shower was also clean and spacious.

Breakfast in the morning was either a traditional Irish breakfast or eggs made to order. Fresh fruit and yogurt was also served along with juice and coffee.

Mary is known for her singing and thus sang a few Irish songs during breakfast. "Danny Boy" was one of them. Beautiful voice!

After breakfast, we chatted with Mary for a bit as my boyfriend, who is from Co. Galway, knew the same folks that Mary was acquainted to. We thought she was just lovely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NesserA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Good sized and very comfortable room. Owner Mary was extremely accommodating and cooked a lovely breakfast. Her musical renditions at breakfast time were a lovely touch and made everyone feel very welcome. Location was great with plenty of off street parking and only a few minutes walk into the town. Would happily recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our first trip to Ireland- many expectations for experiencing the Ireland hospitality we had heard so much about. Mary, the hostess/owner of the Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast goes above and beyond to make your stay in Ireland a very special one. She makes you feel right at home from the start by making jokes,kidding, and telling funny stories. To wake up in the morning and hear her singing "Danny Boy" was just too good to be true. We stayed three nights, which was not what we had planned when we checked in! But she made the Connemara area come alive for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our three days and nights in Clifden. A short walk to town, yet very quiet at night. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast delicious- from Mary's home made brown bread to pancakes with her mum's homemade raspberry jam to top them off. She was very helpful in helping us decide which places to go and see, and even called a friend for suggestion in the Ennis area, our last stop in Ireland. If we ever go back to Ireland,we will definitely stay with Mary again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurfNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Wonderful place-clean,warm,well decorated,outstanding breakfast. A place I will never forget because of Mary, the hostess. The Irish are very friendly people and Mary was the best! She really goes above and beyond to take care of her guests. She is a great storyteller . She sings a song and plays the violin at breakfast (she is quite good). I highly recommend this B&B, You just have to met Mary! If I ever go again I am definitely staying here! by Vicki Dehnert

Room Tip: My room was excellent-3 beds for my 2 daughters and myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our stay at the Connemara Country Lodge turned out to be the highlight of our trip to Ireland. Everything about this Guest House was first class. Starting with a very warm Irish greeting from Mary the proprietor - who incidentally speaks many languages - to the bright spacious and spotlessly clean bedrooms. Breakfast is a real treat with an extensive menu followed by Mary signing and playing violin. Irish hospitality at it's best!!!!!! Mary is most helpful and gave us lots of information on the surrounding areas so that we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Connemara. We can't wait to return to this beautiful Irish home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We toured the whole west coast of Ireland and stayed in 5 hotels and guesthouses.
Connemara Country Lodge was for sure the best.
The lodge is located on the periphery of Clifden and thus it's quite silent at night, but just a few minutes walk to the town centre.
The room was fondly furnished and clean, the beds really comfortable.
We took the irish breakfast and really enjoyed it.
But the real highlight was the hearty, warm welcome by Mary when we arrived. We instantly felt like home. Mary would do almost anything to make you feel comfortable.
But, even more, Mary sings some Irish songs every day after breakfast, and also plays the fiddle and flute.
Mary and her lovely daughter Olivia treated us like family members.
If you travel to Connemara, we only can strongly recommend this lodge and the unmatched hospitality of Mary and Olivia.
We say THANK YOU and hope to come back one time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing