We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”
Review of Circle of Friends

Circle of Friends
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Inistioge
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've read a couple of critical reviews of this place with great surprise. The experience of a group of six of us was superb. Some had soup with thick thick slices of wonderful homemade brown bread. If we had been returning home that day we would have bought a couple of loaves. The desserts were amazing. Wickedly tempting. The helpings were huge and when another customer exclaimed at this she was given half her dessert in a box to take away. The atmosphere was relaxed and very friendly. The food was excellent value and made on the premises.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmfrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    13
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly; good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Inistioge on a sunny winter day between Christmas and New Year's. The staff were warm and welcoming and the atmosphere was friendly and lively. It's small so it can get crowded, but the food is very good. We had soup and brown bread (this combination makes an excellent lunch or light dinner), and dessert. Everything made on premises.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There is a very relaxed and casual air to this little cafe/restaurant, and we were given a warm welcome. We didn`t have mains, but the coffees, desserts and cakes were uniformly good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Charming, great food, Irish hospitality”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Although the menu, displayed on a chalkboard, was limited and we had to wait for a bit, the food was especially good. Some scenes from the movie, Circle of Friends (book by Maeve Binchy) were filmed here. This is a cool little town with really friendly people. Town pronounced "Inisteega" by locals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inspectordude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Prices are too high for this little place. Our salmon was way over cooked but the pizza at another table looked very nice indeed. Staff were rather loud. Rest room was not particularly clean. The desserts did look delicious but we did not order any.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle of Friends also viewed

 
New Ross, County Wexford
 
Thomastown, Kilkenny
St Mullins, County Carlow
 

Been to Circle of Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing