We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home”
other travelers have booked this property
Fanningstown House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Fanningstown House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pjphelps
Elberton, Georgia
1 review
“Lovely home”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We recently stayed in this lovely home for 6 nights. The beds were very comfortable. The home has all the amenities needed. Angela was easy to work with and met us with fruit and staples to begin our stay.
Angela did tell us she was having difficulty with her Wifi and it did not work while we were there.
I'd highly recommend this home.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Pamela
Thank you for the positive comments
At long last hi fibre broadband in limited data installed so far no complaints
Regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and stunning house, good for large groups”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A family group of eight were looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay while in Limerick and this was the perfect house. The house is beautifully furnished and has everything you could want for a break. We were a group of mixed ages and it suited everyone. We were only sorry we were only there for a few days, we would happily have stayed longer.
Angela provided a very warm welcome and there were some essentials like milk, bread, eggs and bacon left for us which was a really nice and unexpected touch. They also provided tips on places to visit.
The house was very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the garden was a great place to sit on a sunny evening.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review .

It was a pleasure having you as guests .
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you want the wow factor then fanningstown house is for you. From the fantastic staircase to the oppulent furnishings this house has it all. Angela the owner is a lovelly lady who goes the extra mile to make you feel special. We were left a welcome basket of food and fruit that lasted us two days so your sorted as soon as you arrive. Adare village is beautiful but busy so be prepared for that. We visited limerick city and surrounding areas but when we went to cork we all agreed we prefered there, sorry limerick. Had a fantastic week altho it wasnt long enough. If we are back in limerick we wont hesitate to book here again. Many many thanks angela.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

House is wonderful. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Angela left a fantastic welcome basket that left us with the essentials for at least a couple of days. Rooms are all beautiful and luxurious. Didnt want to leave. Limerick and surrounding areas are good but we prefered cork which is just over an hours drive away but well worth it. Have stayed in lots of holiday rentals over ireland and so far this one has been the best. Go try here you wont be dissapointed. Thank you so much angela. Next time we are in limerick you will be getting a booking from us.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwmcpa201...
Watsonville, California
1 review
“The home and the hosts were absolutely spectacular!”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house is wonderful in all respects. Fully stocked kitchen, great bedrooms and baths and plenty of room to relax. Conveniently located about an hours drive to places like Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, Cliffs of Mohr. Surrounding area and town are upscale. Close to highway for connecting to destinations.

Great pubs in Adare for a lunch or dinner plus a market that had everything needed for the house.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property.
Liked least: Limited TV.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect setting”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We travelled as a family to celebrate my mother's 70th (it was a surprise). We had the most wonderful time and the house had everything (and more) that we could have needed. We will definitely be returning! Thank you so much!

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmmc
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fanningstown House - exceptional!”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I cannot recommend this house highly enough. I booked it literally on the day of our arrival in Adare for a family emergency. Angela, the owner, was exceedingly kind and helpful and readied the house for us within a few hours.
The house is immaculate and well stocked and Angela also provided a comprehensive welcome pack of basic foodstuffs for us.
The location is easy to find; it is about 4 miles from the picturesque village of Adare, so a car is definitely a must. Limerick city is a short drive along the motorway and, for holidaymakers, it is a wonderful location to day trip in various directions.

The ground floor of the house has disabled access via ramps at the back (into the sun room). There is a downstairs double bedroom (not en suite) and a downstairs cloakroom, but unfortunately no downstairs shower/bath.
The kitchen is a wonderful gathering area, with a table to seat 10 people easily. Kitchen has modern appliances and plenty of crockery and utensils. There is a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer. Central heating is metered and charged additionally.
Wifi is included.
There is also a formal dining room as photographed, but we did not use it.
The living room is cosy and has a bright sun room off it to the west, where I enjoyed the view across the fields as I read my book and sipped coffee.
Upstairs there are two huge bedrooms, one with en suite and walk-in wardrobe, and two slightly smaller double rooms, one of which also has an en suite bathroom. There is a beautiful sunny sitting area on the landing.

All in all, this house would suit large family gatherings, or two families holidaying together.
As others have mentioned it lends itself well to wedding parties, being within three miles of Adare Manor and the Dunraven Arms and even closer to Fitzgerald's Woodlands Hotel.

Ordinarily I would not need to book accommodation in Adare because we have family in the area, but I would be more than happy to stay at the house again. Thanks again to Angela for such wonderful customer service.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious for large group
Liked least: No issues at all
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Dear Mary
Many thanks for the encouraging review and for the recommendations
Best wishes
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing