We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Grand Stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Fanningstown House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Fanningstown House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pleased20...
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Grand Stay!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived from the states for our two week stay at Fanningstown House on July 15, 2013. We came to Ireland for our daughter's wedding in Adare. The house is a short drive to Adare considered one of the most scenic villages in all of Ireland.

My husband and I couldn't have imagined a more charming and memorable stay than these two weeks at Fanningstown House. We concluded that had we not had this rental property our trip/wedding would not have been as fantastic.

We entertained with a pre-wedding luncheon for the bride and her bridesmaids in the huge kitchen. Our photographer enjoyed an unique photo shoot of the bride and bridesmaids using the gorgeous property as the background. We had a luncheon for friends, and an evening dinner party for nine family members in the lovely formal dinning room. The house offers so many possibilities for entertaining in a relaxed style.

This lovely comfortable country home is a must stay for anyone visiting the west of Ireland. Fanningstown House is in close proximity to many of Ireland's west coast attractions. (Dingle Peninsula, Cliffs of Moher, Galway, and Kinsale) There is also a fine pub just down the road.

The property is actually more beautiful than depicted in the photos on-line. It definitely has the WOW factor. The house is well-equipped and well-maintained with lovely flower gardens, an outdoor patio, and laundry facilities. The house is so large, there is plenty of living space for gatherings as well as alone time for those who seek quiet for reading or lounging. We love the fact that the home incorporates modern energy efficient living.

We awoke each morning delighted to be staying in this home away from home. The quiet country landscape was so beautiful. It was amazing how that early morning cup of coffee tasted so fabulous in the peaceful surroundings of Fanningstown House.

The owners, Angela and John, were very welcoming. They always had time for a conversation. Never intrusive, they were just a phone call away to assist us as their guests.

Family and friends who stopped by the house were awestruck by the beauty and spaciousness of the house as well as the "smart" decision we had made to enjoy the wedding and Ireland in the relaxing environment of a long term stay at Fanningstown House thus avoiding the ritual of the stressful moving/unpacking as you travel from one accommodation to the next over an extended period of time.

My husband and I highly recommend Fanningstown House to those looking to experience a lovely respite while doing some exploring of the west coast country of Ireland and meeting its gracious people. It was simply GRAND!

M.
USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the ability to relax and really enjoy our wedding and trip to Ireland in such a beautiful and charming home in Ireland's countryside.
Liked least: There is nothing I would change.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexjohn...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a family break”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The house was fantastic, as was Ireland. Close to the Thatched pub (800m). 5 minutes drive to Adare. Close to Limerick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and kitchen
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizziebet...
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely and spacious countryside living”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Fanningstown House is a newer five bedroom home located within a few miles of the beautiful village of Adare. Angela, the owner, was very easy to work with in making the arrangements for our stay. Only four of us stayed at the home, which could very easily accomodate five couples. The photos are spot on: the kitchen large and well furnished, the dining room large, as well, and the outside grounds were landscaped and inviting. The home is spotless and decorated very well. It sits on the farm owned by Angela and her husband, John. We regret that we only saw their cows from the sunroom once. I must say that as Americans we had some difficulty with the washer/dryer and oven, but that was our problem and not that of the owners.

The village of Adare is idyllic and from there you can get to Galway, Dingle, Ring of Kerry, Cork, and even Dublin in no more than two hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size.
Liked least: Showers were too small.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_dxrs
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is the second time our family has stayed at Fanningstown House and we have all loved it. It is perfect for a family group,very spacious and comfortable and equipped with everything you will need for cooking and comfort. John and Angela are great hosts and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The bedrooms are luxurious, comfortable beds and lovely linen. The kitchen is huge and we had some great family times all together there. The area is lovely. It is very peaceful and quiet. You will need a car to get around or use the local taxi service which is terrific. I do not hesitate in recommending this house, it is outstanding. Many thanks from us all for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a perfect base for day trips. The area is lovely.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO USA
Reviewed July 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing