We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coatesland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coatesland House
Ranked #2 of 23 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, New York
1 review
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights with Florence and Donel - they are great hosts and had the most wonderful experience. The Coatesland House is spotless, everything worked, the breakfasts were outstanding but beyond all of that we were made to feel like family. We had an automobile issue - Florence took care of it personally so that our trip never missed a beat. From facilities, to advice on what to see, where to eat, and everything Irish - this is simply the best there is.

We are experienced and sophisticated travelers who now feel that we have friends in Adare. Michele and I feel that we have met the entire village.

Plan your visit to stay at the Coatesland House. It is a treat.

Room Tip: We were in the back - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
99
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed a few days in the southwest of Ireland and chose Adare as a hub to visit from there Moher, Ring of Kerry, Killarney, Cork, etc.

We traveled with a 4 month baby and had a wonderful stay at this B & B. We felt at home, they prepared a nice cot for the baby and our room was very clean and quiet.

Florence and Donald constantly cared for us and the breakfasts were excellent!!

We hope to repeat next year with the baby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Coatesland Guesthouse this past October, and wish we had had more time in our schedule to stay longer. This was the best of our B&B experiences during two weeks in Ireland, and most of the other experiences were also very good. Our room was lovely, the breakfasts were fantastic, and we enjoyed the comfort and conversations of most of the house. Florence and Donal are great hosts. They shared the history of the village, and all the things to see, do, and where to eat. Any easy walk to the town center, also.

Room Tip: Our room and the room of the couple travelling with us both overlooked the back yard and parking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLDSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Coatesland House in Adare. From the great rooms and bathrooms to the amazing breakfast this place is great! Our favorite part of our stay at Coatesland House is how wonderful Florence and Donal are. They made sure we felt welcome and well taken care of. I am not surprised that they have a high rate of return because I cannot imagine coming to Ireland again without visiting this great Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundwood, Co. Wicklow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the second visit to Florence and Donal's warm and welcoming home. Florence exdudes kindness , she has thought of everything, from fresh fruit in the rooms, to a big high definition TV in the guests lounge. Nothing is too much trouble, and I'm not at all surprised that they have so many repeat visitors. Winnie, the dog, is also integral to my enjoyment there, a wonderful gentle and intelligent dog that they lovingly care for.
If you want a faceless , minimalist , anonymous hotel, don't come here. Breakfasts are fresh and huge, and there is lots of choice. The beds are very comfortable, and it's quiet. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, thank you Florence and Donal!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jpol1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was the perfect ending to our first visit to Ireland. Florence & Donal are wonderful hosts. The place is immaculate and the food overwhelming. We also were welcomed by their therapy dog Winnie and 2 of her friends, Sunshine & Molly! We walked back and forth into the town 2 times a day with no worries. Florence called a cab for us when it was time to leave, and we made a new friend with John as well. The Hogans are true ambassadors of Irish hospitality!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room towards the back which also gave us a view of the horses in the pasture behind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I can only echo the praise of other guests. Florence and Donal are so friendly, the room was large and very comfortable with fresh fruit, water etc. Bathroom was large and spotless with cotton wool, tissues, magazines, toiletries, all you could need. Breakfast was superb with a large table groaning with buffet items, that's before you get to the 'full Irish'. We accepted extra pots of tea and cups of coffee while chatting, and realised we had been sitting over breakfast for two hours! It really was like staying with your favourite family members. The walk was fine for us, only ten minutes to the first pubs & restaurants, and a pleasant walk back after a superb dinner the The White Sage. All the B&Bs we stayed in for our 8 day trip were superb, but this was the best.

Room Tip: We were offered a choice, we chose a lovely room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swatchways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
10.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coatesland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coatesland House

Property: Coatesland House
Address: Killarney Rd. (N21), Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing