We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, wonderful stay!”
Review of Coatesland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coatesland House
Ranked #2 of 19 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, wonderful stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our brief stay with Florence and Donal and of course Winnie the dog. The room was spotless and had just about everything that you could need, the breakfast was excellent also. We had booked for a Friday and Saturday night while attending a wedding in Adare Manor but unexpectedly had the opportunity to stay in the Manor on the Saturday evening. Though it was almost 1pm on Saturday when we told Florence that we would not in fact be with them that night she simply would not hear of taking payment for the second night. While Adare was simply wonderful, the service and welcome provided by Florence and Donal was every bit as impressive. Stay there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarenceR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
108
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Florence and Donal welcomed us into their home as if we were familly. Florence had visited Colorado years ago so we had an instant connection. She is a wealth of information that she readily shares. Our breakfast was the best and most generous of our entire trip. Not only was the interior welcoming and warmly decorated but the flowers were magnificent! We would stay here again without hesitation! It was delightful!

Room Tip: Trust Florence and Donal to take care of your needs. They will not disappoint you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our second stay at Coatesland was just as great as as our first (back in 2004). The walk into town is only 10 minutes, the accomodations are as good as any we've experienced in Ireland, the breakfasts are as good as any we've eaten in Ireland, and Florence and Donal are truly warm and gracious hosts. If you are staying in Adare, this is an easy choice to make.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house (away from the N21) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobincade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's hard to imagine that there is a better B&B in Ireland. Florence and Donal are the perfect hosts and Winnie the perfect dog. We couldn't have been made more welcome or been more comfortable. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits in the sitting room before we settled in to our very comfortable rooms. It was cold and wet outside but warm in every sense inside.

Breakfast was a feast of delicious local produce; even the black pudding was lovely - and I don't like black pudding. Most of all we enjoyed chatting with Florence and Donal and being made to feel like members of their family. They were friendlier and more helpful than paying guests have any right to expect. Florence could only accommodate us for two of our three nights in Adare so rather than just suggest some alternatives she made a booking for our third night with one of her friends. She even did our son's washing!

Coatesland House is an outstanding B&B where you'll be treated to the gold standard of Irish hospitality. The only reason not to stay here when you're in Adare is if they have no space.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowendips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently stayed in Coatesland House and it was such a lovely experience from booking right through to check out. Denise couldn't have been more helpful when I emailed and when we checked in she had thoughtfully and unexpectedly put a bottle of wine in the rooms fridge for us to enjoy in the sunshine. Donal, one of the owners is a sweetheart and a fabulous host.
The room itself was beautiful - exceptionally clean, really comfortable and filled with lots of pretty little touches. We spent quite a bit of our evening sitting in the lovely decking area at the back sipping our wine and playing with Winnie, their very loveable dog! Breakfast was served in the light and airy sunroom and we were simply spoiled for choice. Perfectly cooked full irish, breads, meats, olives, cheeses, cereals, fruit - if you wanted it, they had it! It outshone so many of the hotels I have stayed in.
An absolute must for anyone visiting the area and a fantastic reason to visit Adare. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcflighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We happened upon the Coatesland B&B by chance but it was one of the best experiences we had on our trip to Ireland. Florence and Donal Hogan know how to run a B&B. We had great rooms and breakfast was excellent. Their hospitality made us feel like being at home. I would reccomend a stay in Adare just to visit the Hogans.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Spent our first 3 nights in Ireland at Coatesland B & B.What an introduction to the beauty and charm of Ireland!
Florence is the most gracious hostess and Donal makes the best irish oatmeal (porridge) in all of Ireland. They really made my Mom and me feel like family. And if you are missing your dog back home, Winnie their portuguese water dog will let you pet her all you want. Our room was perfect, wonderfully cozy and warm. Irish hospitality at it's best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
6.4 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Lodge
Berkeley Lodge
#3 of 19 in Adare
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coatesland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coatesland House

Property: Coatesland House
Address: Killarney Rd., Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Coatesland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing