We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting!”
other travelers have booked this property
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Entrance Hallway, whether going to living room, kitchen or bedrooms upstairs you will meet here Welcoming open fire, relaxed with family or friends, spend time relaxing in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Entrance Hallway, whether going to living room, kitchen or bedrooms upstairs you will meet here
Welcoming open fire, relaxed with family or friends, spend time relaxing in the living room
Afternoon tea in front of open turf fire, what is more relaxing while away with your loved ones
Formal dining room for celebrating special occasions with family at your castle rental in Adare
Large country style kitchen with pine table for everyone to enjoy long lazy breakfasts together
Feeling spoilt at your self-catering castle, enjoy breakfast in the kitchen or on the patio
Side view of Fanningstown Castle, the old stone round tower dates from the 12th Century
Large enclosed patio leading from kitchen with gas grill & outdoor seating, watch kids having fu
Master bedroom at your Irish Castle, looks out over patio & garden, can also be 2 twin beds
King or 2 twin beds, lovely room over library with window seat to read at overlooking garden
Queen bed in soft shades of lemon with windows overlooking rolling dairy lands of the Golden Vale
Queen bed to front of castle, relax & take time to enjoy your special stay in Ireland
Twin beds or king bed, this room at top of castle on way up to tower, perfect if looking for quiet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claranor
1 review
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What an amazing week we have had. The castle was a dream. We visited Ireland for a family wedding and Fanningstown could not have been more perfect of a home for our group. My daughters felt like real live princesses, I loved sipping tea on the back patio and cozying up in the window seats and everyone enjoyed breakfasting in the sunny kitchen and sipping Jameson, playing cards or reading by the living room fire late into the night. Mary and Dave were the most hospitable and attentive hosts--stocking the fridge, filling the wood supply, arranging fresh flowers and responding at a moments notice regarding any question. We felt like royalty. Real life will be difficult to return to after 9 days at the castle! I fear we've set the bar high for any future vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy O
1 review
“Amazing castle with charming hostess”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This review is long overdue.

Our family spent 2 amazing weeks at Fanningstown Castle in May. Mary was such a lovely host and made our trip extra special.

The castle is wonderful. It has all the old world charm you would expect for a "castle" with modern convenience.
We particularly enjoyed the fenced in courtyard since we had several small kids that wanted to run around. (Mary brought over bikes, cars, and outdoor toys from her own home for the kids to play with!)

The location is great. Close to town but away from all the traffic. We were able explore much of the west coast from Galway down to Cork/Blarney.

Another great benefit of Mary's hospitality was she introduced us to her friend Anne who came over to cook us 2 delicious meals during our stay. Amazing restaurant quality meals in the comfort of our "home away from home."

We hope to make t back to Ireland again someday and if we do will certainly make a stay at Fanningstown Castle part of the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimsiF
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab Family time at Fanningstown”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked 3 nights at Fanningstown for 6 people and also had extended family over for dinner one night. Mary was extremely accommodating, dropping up most days to see all was well, and you really need her to show you the way as they don't have a sign- as they just don't want anyone turning up and disturbing the peace of the residents and farm. Even a local historian I met hadn't heard of the castle! It had a great atmosphere and all the mod cons of great kitchen and heating upstairs at night and down in the day on a timer if you wished. You do have to pay for the oil used at the end of the time there though - we probably kept cosy for about 10 Euros a day. The dairy cows didn't disturb us but were about to be moved as we left to other pastures. We chatted around the firs at night and actually never made it to the Adare pubs like we had intended and visited local history sites in the day including Kings John's Castle in Limerick, Adare and its ancient monastery, friary, churches and castle. Lough Gur Heritage Centre was also a gem to wander around and listen to the history and folk tails weather permitting.We were sad to say good bye to Fanningstown and our friendly "Casper".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and time for family.
Liked least: Occassional "chills" also the atmosphere!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi76
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spacious, yet cosy, beautifully decorated historic castle with all modern conveniences”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our stay with 8-10 members of our family over the Christmas Holidays was just wonderful and relaxing. The castle is even prettier in person. The very comfortable antique furniture create a stately period atmosphere that enhances the castle stay experience. The overall appearance of the castle is that of a very comfy private home.
Mary greets guests with a luscious basket of breads, biscuits, various snacks, fresh fruit as well as refrigerated staples of milk, eggs, butter, etc. The vases of fresh flowers were beautiful and added to the charm of the castle.
After a day of touristing, it was so nice to unwind in front of the beautiful fireplace and a warm fire. Everyone complimented the comfort of the furniture in that room. The television room with the piano is also very comfortable. Since it was December, rainy, and chilly outsiide, we were surprised at how cosy the rooms were at night.

The kitchen is very well appointed and we enjoyed cooking breakfasts and evening meals there.

The beds are comfortable though firm . We all slept quite well!
Showers are very nice.

My favorite rooms are the dining room and living room.
The cool windy stone stairs were fun to maneuver, really feel like you are going back in time when you are going up or down them.

The castle grounds are picturesque.
We found it to be in a very convenient location for the sites we wanted to see.
All in all, this family who has been renting European vacation homes since 2000 give it a big thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a castle
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne M
1 review
“Living like Royalty”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

In a beautiful land like Ireland, where castle ruins abound, who doesn't want to stay in their own castle - especially one that comes with its own ghost? :) We utilized Fanningstown Castle as our central location while in Ireland for a week. It was a great central location (didn't drive more than 1.45 hours to any particular location) and staying at the castle was wonderful! Our hosts (Mary and David) were so gracious in that there was food in the refrigerator and cupboards, along with fresh bread and a bottle of wine! We got a little turned around in trying to find the place so David came to us and led us to the castle.

The castle itself was so nice and HUGE! We had 9 people and there was plenty of space for all. The young adults (especially my daughter) were so excited to be staying in their very own castle. The only drawback was dragging a 50 pound suitcase up the circular stone stairs. I found it much easier taking it down - stand at the top of the stairs and push it down! LOL

The kitchen and dining room was used for family meals and easily accommodated all 9 of us. It was also the "hang out" location since the WI-FI only worked in the kitchen but not a problem since we were there to site see, not surf the net except to upload fabulous photos of the places we'd been too.

Overall - HIGHLY recommend this to any who wants to experience what it was like in a time forgotten when only royalty lived in castles. Now you can too - at a very reasonable price! Thank you David and Mary for making our trip that much more memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a castle!!!!!
Liked least: The castle came with very narrow circular stairs!! :)
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G
Desert Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Place”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fanningstown Castle is the perfect place to stay. If you've ever dreamed of living in a castle then go to Fanningstown Castle. Perfection is not enough to say. Furnishings were what you would think of in a castle. The Proprietors Mary and Dave Normoyle were the perfect hosts. You need something they were there. Firewood- done, hair dryers-done,. Ask and you shall receive. We had a fire all the time and Dave made sure we never ran out of firewood. The castle is cold so bring warm clothes but trust me it's the warmest place you will ever live in. The kitchen is modern and has lots of equipment and dishes etc to keep you happy. I had a family of 17 there and we were perfectly happy. It was a dream for me and turned out to be a dream for my family. The castle is beautifully kept. If I could give this castle a higher rating I would give it a 10. I thank Mary and Dave for a beautiful visit to Ireland and will never forget them. Do not hesitate to rent this castle, you will be very happy,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteresc...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memories for a Lifetime!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about this wonderful, magical place! We chose Fanningstown because it was nearby my father's farm and we wanted our children to experience life in a castle. We had no idea just how wonderful this experience would be! The owner's are lovely and very responsive to every need. The castle is old, yet updated and has all of the modern amenities that we were used to. Mary met us on the first day and made us feel welcome in her home. The grounds are beautiful and our children enjoyed the cattle and horse just down the road. A trip of a lifetime for us and staying at Fanningstown helped make it extra special. We look forward to our next stay! Thank you! =) Eileen and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eveything!
Liked least: Nothing. It was all wonderful!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing