We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to spoil your family”
Review of 1826 Adare

1826 Adare
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 1826 Adare is a casual dining restaurant in the picturesque village of Adare. Owners Wade & Elaine Murphy strive to provide seasonal, locally sourced cuisine at reasonable prices in a cosy setting. Matched with friendly & attentive service. Awarded Best Restaurant 2014, 2015 & 20116 in Limerick & Munster. Awarded a Michelin Guide Bib Gourmand in both 2016 & 2017
Mannedorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A great place to spoil your family”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a family celebration and went for this restaurant, which we found through Lonely Planet.
The ambient atmosphere, the welcome and the interior, as well as the beautiful cottage, was such a pleasure.
From the outset the staff took good care of us. We all had different dishes and it was all presented in a splendid, colorful and very tasty manner. The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the meals is simply second to none. We have one restaurant in Denmark that we always use as a benchmark, and this place was pretty close in the final race.
Only strange observation was, that the chef seemed to come out and greet the locals, whereas the tourists were left on their own to find the door. Just remember, that any customer is a paying customer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    44
    15
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

One of the best meals I have ever had- anywhere in the world. We ordered two of the specials for Sunday July 20, 2014 - both were delicious and exquisitely prepared. Service was wonderful and unobtrusive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

my only negative point about this restaurant was when we got the menu, on one side it gave a dinner menu, on the other it gave the a la carte. the dinner menu finished at 7.00 pm our booking was 9.00 pm. the waitress had a list of specials to relate to us, i feel these should have been inserted where the dinner menu was, it was impossible to remember them. other than this slight problem the service, ambience and food was excellent.the staff were friendly and efficient, we felt very relaxed. the prices were a little expensive but very well worth it as a treat every now and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

As I am local to Adare, I sometimes forget that we have some beautiful restaurants so close to home. 1826 is the type of restaurant that you would go to for that special occasion or to spoil yourself. The food was prepared with exceptional skill and presented with a flare that one can assume won Chef Wade Murphy his prestigious award. The experience was a delight from beginning to end. Thank you!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lamb and Pork Hurrah!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had the pork and lamb special. Terrific! Family run establishment. Food we'll prepared, eye appeal very nice. Then the taste!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lbr93001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1826 Adare also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to 1826 Adare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing