We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The extra mile”

The Oak Room at Adare Manor
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wicklow
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The extra mile”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

From start to finish the meal experience was first class. From the setting, the staff & their engagement with us, the menu & the quality of the food - we just could not fault it. It is pricey but you know that going in & don't mind paying when it reaches & exceeds expectations. We will be back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wicklowfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    24
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london, uk and killarney, ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Missing the "wow factor"”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Technically, I guess this should be listed under "The Drawing Room" at Adare Manor, as we had the Afternoon Tea "experience".

We had been looking forward to being wowed, and while nothing was disastrous, we were left feeling disappointed or at least underwhelmed.

The food was average, at best. We had to ask for extra jam and cream for the scones as the tiny amount provided wasn't nearly enough.
The standard of service depended on which server arrived. The chap who did bring the food consistently referred to preservatives rather than preserves. I know it's a small thing, but if we noticed it several times at different tables, surely someone should take him aside and correct him?
And later, when we wanted to leave, we had to leave the table to try to find someone so we could pay our bill. We even asked at the reception desk where we could settle the bill, as we seemed to be ignored each time we tried to ask a waiter for the bill.
It just felt like some extra staff training was required, but not considered important.

The appearance in the main lobby was marred by the sight of stacked tables and chairs in the gallery area.
The single hand soap dispenser in the men's room didn't work.
I know it's an old building but surely the same standards should apply to both old and new establishments, especially when they are supposed to be Five Stars.

Afternoon Tea cost €27.50 per person. We really felt it wasn't good value for money.

I hate to sound so negative. It was nice. But we expected more, and it just didn't deliver. It lost points for the food, the service, the general maintenance of the areas we saw, and finally for the price. €10 less per person and we would have at least felt that it hadn't been a total rip-off.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Elegant”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a five star restaurant that lives up to every star! We had a wonderful dinner filled with excellent appetizers, dinner, dessert, and wine. The decor was beautiful with not to be missed tapestries and wooden carvings on the fireplace.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelia8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a great place to drink a port wine, or a glass of whiskey by the fireplace with a book and just relax. We enjoyed this bar as a place for after dinner cordials. It was a very nice place to enjoy a great glass of Jameson!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelia8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went for afternoon tea. Delicious.... Scones served with clotted cream... Heaven... The service was just perfect... Friendly and swift. And, if you cannot manage to finish the delicious pastries, the pack them in a box to take home... Cannot wait to go back for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Gerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Room at Adare Manor also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to The Oak Room at Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing