We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel is lovely, the food is exceptional.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
clare
1 review
“The hotel is lovely, the food is exceptional.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

The hotel is lovely, the food is exceptional. You gave us a beautiful room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    279
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
473
404
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

My Husband and I visited this area for the first time, and our stay at the Woodland House Hotel exceed all our expectations.
The main hotel building, was very comfortable, with excellent restaurants and bar facilites, and the service was extreamly friendly and attentive. However, the Spa is a must ! Without doubt this has to be the best in Ireland and something not to be missed.
If you are looking for a relaxing, and pampered weekend, without having to spend an absolute fortune, this is the Hotel for you. We are looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed here for two night. Everything about our stay was excellent. The room was lovely, the staff very friendly and very helpfull. The Leisure Centre was top class with a huge pool and a lovely kids pool. The food was amazing, on both night we eat in the bistro and breakfast was lovely every diet was catered for. I could not find a fault with this hotel a really lovely homely friendly place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionawhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
We were delighted to receive your fantastic review. Than you so much. It has been a source of huge inspiration for us.

Please let me know when you plan on staying with us next so that I can endeavour to say a big thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Elaina, David & the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed in this Hotel for three nights in Sept for a family wedding. The rooms are big and spacious. The hotel itself is very nice and has a nice restaurant. All staff are very friendly apart from one or two. The only fault i would have with this Hotel was that the bar only stayed opened until 12 o' clock. Then it closed until 3am where the residents bar opened in the main function room for one hour. If there was a function in the room then you would have to go in and mix with them if you wanted a drink.
Would recommend this Hotel for all age groups as there was a very mixed age group with us and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
My partner however did have one incident with a spider in the room. I had noticed tha very large spider one night on the ground. Wehn my partner got up the next morning and went into the bathroom the spider was on his back. I nearly freaked as well as him freaking. I felt that if a hoover had of been taken around the corners of the room and pull out the furniture in the room then this would have got rid of a lot of the spiderwebs and also perhaps even the spiders.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

stayed in this hotel with my husband and toddler. nice hotel but old. Rooms need upgrading as they were very basic. Rooms had a smelll of stale smoke. Smell of smoke also in the reception area. Hotel had two weddings while we were there.

Didnt find the receptionist very friendly, had to ask which direction to take to go to my room when i booked in.

Lovely swimming pool and lovely food. Enjoyed stay but rooms could be nicer or more up to date - hotel and grounds/garden need a major makeover.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlywee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our dining & leisure facilities.

We are sorry that your allocated room smelled of smoke. We always allocate guest bedrooms according to our guests' smoking preferences. It is disappointing to learn that some guests do not honour their room preferences. We always endeavour to rectify the same when we are made aware of it.

You may have observed during your stay that refurbishments are currently being conducted in our bedrooms. Hopefully on your next visit, you will have the opportunity to see the upgrades made by our team.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments &we would also like to assure you that your feedback has been passed on to all of our team members to ensure a more enjoyable experience for all of our guests.

Kind Regards

Elaina and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed at this hotel overnight Friday on way to Kerry. Facilities are superb, our room was a King Size Room which was extremely comfortable. The Bistro offers a wide variety of food on the menu and the main bar area is comfortable to sit in and enjoy a drink. Used the Spa Facilities and would put them at the top of my list, the decor and cleanliness were excellent. Staff at the hotel were very polite and courteous, our car broke down but with the help of the staff we managed to get the situation resolved and on our journey. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malnat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Many thanks for your fantastic feedback. Our team are delighted to receive the same. It is always wonderful to have our efforts acknowledged by our guests.

Please ensure that you let me know when you are staying with us again so that we can thank you in person.

Kind Regards

Elaina, David & the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Stayed at the hotel last weekend with my wife and two children. Dined in Timmy Macs Bistro on Friday and Brennans Restaurant on Saturday night. I have to say that the food was very good and service very friendly. (excellent Childrens Menu) . Breakfast was very good apart from the toaster which was just heating the bread. Aside from one stain on the carpet (where a radiator obviously leaked at some point) our room was very comfortable and quite peaceful considering you had two weddings at the hotel during the weekend. The TV signal in our room (Sky channel service) needs to be checked out as it went to standby mode on both nights. Leisure centre was quite nice with a lovely pool. All the staff we met during the weekend were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. I will look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munster-FanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsadare, Proprietor at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Many thanks for your very kind review. Our team were delighted to receive the same. It is always rewarding for us to hear such positive feedback & particularly so in relation to the friendliness of our staff. We are also very thankful for your very positive comments regarding our breakfast, dining and leisure facilities.

We are delighted that you acknowledged our healthy children's menu. We have worked earnestly in creating an alternative for families like our own seeking healthier dining options for their children in both the Brennan Room Restuarant, Timmy Mac's Bistro and at our Sunday Buffet Lunch.

We have addressed the maintenance issues identified by you so hopefully on your next stay you will see how your feedback was put into action.

Please ensure that you me know when you are staying with us again so that I can endeavour to provide you with a thank you form all of our team.

Kind Regards

Elaina, David & all of the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing