We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time enjoying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have to say that this family run business is top level. Reception very efficient and friendly. Pub run like a clock with a nice irish twist. Timmy Mack´s breakfast bar with self service impecable, you can eat to your hearts content. Restaurant serves beautiful irish dishes, taste excellent, service with a smile. Rooms really really nice and tidy although the furthest back rooms are quite far from the front desk. So if you are handicapped ask for the rooms near the front and ground level.
Spa was just OK. The woman on the desk had " the balls" to start giving me, born n Finland, advice on how to go to sauna...that was a bit thick and that is why just VG overall rating. All and all a lovely stay every time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stunning hotel, lovely rooms and service was prompt and friendly. Meals were spot on and the amenities were very good. Would stay here again. This was a location where as part of the holiday we were attending a dog show. I didnt expect the hotel to be as lovely as it was considering the grounds played host to the show. Even then the hotel hosted breakfast for all and allowed the use of the bar, toilets and wifi. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBailey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you for all the nice comments you made about our entire hotel. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We host the dog show every year and we aim to provide excellent service to both the guests staying the nights surrounding the event and the guests coming in just for the day.

All services are available to guests while they stay with us and we are pleased you took full advantage of this. It was great to read you had the opportunity to dine with us and you enjoyed the food provided to you.

Hope to see you return for the show next year, if you do return please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will endeavour to provide some treats with our compliments.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the service was excellent, what a lovely hotel,beautiful large clean rooms, we also had a fantastic day as my son and wife had their wedding reception there so much credit due to Mr Dave Fitzgerald and his team throughout the day also from the time we first spoke to him re the wedding right through to the following day food and service was class so was breakfast following morning hopefully we will return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for fabulous review of our hotel and your wedding reception. We were delighted to be a part of your son’s special day and it makes all our efforts worthwhile knowing you had such a wonderful day.

The staff are a valuable asset in our hotel and we are delighted that you experienced our friendly and welcoming staff.

We would also like to thank you for commenting on our large bedrooms and the kind words you said about food.

We hope to see you in the hotel again in the not too distant future. It was our pleasure to host the special day.

Hoping that the lovely couple are enjoying married life together.

Thanks again
David Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very good hotel. We were allocated a room near some noisy air handling units, when we asked to be moved we were accommodated immediately and were moved to the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in, you could of had a tennis match in it.
The food was great and the staff were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crunchie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Thank for bring to our attention the noisy air handling units, which we have looked into and fixed. We were only too delighted to accommodate you to a more spacious bedroom, as a way of making up for the hassle of moving. Our guests are our number 1 priority and we do anything to make sure they have a truly enjoyable stay
.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your meal and that you received good service from our team
.
We would happily welcome you back in the future, this time you know to bring the tennis rackets.

David Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, luxurious large clean room......jacuzzi bath....ultra comfy beds & pillows ( which you can purchase new ones if required) good restaurant and fabulous breakfast.....full spa facilities & swimming.......hope to return !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetrulesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the spaciousness of our bedrooms. It was our pleasure having you dine with us in the restaurant and that your enjoyed your breakfast.

We thank you for visiting our spa and leisure facilities, we encourage all our guests to visit them, to receive their feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms were spacious, well equipped and comfortable. The food excellent and breakfast had a wide and varied selection for all palates and appitites.

The staff were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble without their attention being over zealous or unwelcomed.

The purpose of the trip was a family wedding which was planned with the utmost prescision and executed with grace and style overseen by Mrs. Fitzgerald herself. Every aspect was carefull orchastrated and the whole event and stay at Woodlands sheer delight. I can't wait to visit again, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyholsplashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel and the wedding reception.

We are so pleased to hear you had wonderful time at the wedding, from the food to the service to the accommodation. As we specialise in weddings, we always try to do our upmost to cater for everyone’s needs. We are privileged to have hosted the wedding and we hope the happy couple are enjoying life together. Be sure to visit our leisure centre next time you stay with us, it is a superb attraction for both adults and children.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will endeavour to provide some treats with our compliments.

Thanks again,
Elaina Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fitzgerald's suffers from being too popular with the locals which makes it noisy and crowded. The hotel is older and the age is showing. It is not a comfortable or luxurious place. If you are looking for something peaceful, quite and upscale, this is not the place. We booked a family room for our family of four which was essentially three beds in a row with little room for sitting to read or check email. The crowded lobbies made it hard to find a spot to get away. We had a bug infestation outside our room and it was treated as no big deal by the staff. There was a dead (dried out) mouse on the sidewalk just outside the bistro that we walked by day in and day out when going to our car. While the hotel prides itself on cleanliness and service, we just found it to be old and tired. As noted in other reviews, the hotel is not walkable to Adare which is also a negative as Adare is a charming little village with great shops, restaurants and sites.

On the plus side, Anna at the front desk was lovely and helpful. She remembered us, helped with anything we needed and was very friendly. We were greeted with balloons and cupcakes for my husband's birthday. The onsite bistro is nice and the food is good and there is variety. The breakfast buffet and service are good. And the overall cost of the rooms is low.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking, make sure your room is not near one of the hallway side doors, as that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,687 reviews
10.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: $104 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing