We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I hadn't been to Woodlands House for a number of years, I'd had a good impression of it from my last visit but sometimes when you go back to a place for a second time it can be different.
I needn't have worried! Woodlands still has the same exceptional family welcome that I remembered from the last time. From the moment you step inside the door you feel welcome.
They have done some facelifts to the hotel since I have been there and I have to say I really liked what they have done. The lobby is a gorgeous open space.

My room was huge with lots of windows and plenty of light coming into the room. The beds were amazingly comforable, I'm told down to the mattress toppers that they have there. Must be true as I slept great!

And so on to the Spa!!! Wow! They didnt have this the last time I was there and I was super impressed. Its huge! We had the Rasul Mud treatment and then the thermal suite experience afterwards. The girls in the spa were very welcoming and attentive. It was such a lovely experience to be outdoors in the hot tub in the sun in Ireland! We then spent a bit of time in the relaxation areas afterwards with a lovely fruit smoothie and some fruit skewers. If you're in the hotel I would recomment you make some time to visit the spa. They also have a hairdressers there too.

For dining there are two options in the hotel - Timmy Macs and Fieldings of Adare. open all day Timmy Macs is a more casual experience but with great food. My friend and I had lunch there and there was a great selection - and these guys do big portions of everything! Its also super child friendly too. We ate in Fieldings in the evening and had a lovely meal there - my friend and I both had the salmon and crab starter and for mains I had the Hake and she had chicken. As it was a scorcher of an evening we asked if we could take our dessert out the front and sit outside and so we did and sat there till the sun went in.,

All in all, a totally relaxing experience and even though I was only away for a night it felt like more than that. I would definitely recommend Woodlands House to anyone looking to stay in Adare. Its also a great base for touring and is not far from Shannon Airport. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Liz

Many thanks for taking to time to submit such a comprehensive and favourable review of our hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to visit our hotel and for the feedback received.

Your review is particularly pleasing as you hadn't visited in a while so you noticed so many of the changes and refurbishments that we made to our hotel. We are glad that you perceived that the same family friendly ethos remains at the heart of our hotel.

Thanks also for your very kind comments on the standard of our bedrooms. We were delighted to note also that you enjoyed your sleep experience.

We were also pleased to learn that you enjoyed your dining experiences in both of our restaurants Timmy Mac's Bistro and Fieldings, our newer fine dining Restuarant.

Thanks also for your feedback regarding revas spa. We also appreciate that it is a seven day oasis of relaxation.

Liz, we very much appreciate your feedback. As our local tourism and road network has developed, we have made a considerable investment into our hotel from a physical and staffing perspective. It is rewarding that this is noticed and has lead to an enhanced stay in our region.

Please don't let it be so long before you visit again. We are looking forward to your next visit already.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    316
    118
    57
    31
See reviews for
548
454
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

From the second I walked into this hotel I was greeted by a lovely worker who even wished my grandmother a happy birthday as we were celebrating her 80th birthday. The staff were nothing but courteous to our needs even if we wanted something that wasn't on the menu. The appearance of the hotel is fabulous and spotlessly clean!
The staff who served us in the ball room were second to none, 110% customer care! They were so nice and even had time for our silly little jokes, My grandparents are regularly at this hotel and they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. I look forward to another weekend break there :) Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit such a favourable review. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your grandmother's 80th birthday celebration and more importantly that she enjoyed this wonderful occasion.

We really appreciate your comments on our staff. We try very hard to give more than 100% to all of our guests so it is very rewarding when this is noticed. We also appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of our hotel.

Please let us know when you are planning your next weekend in Adare and we will endeavour to provide a treat with our compliments.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the moment you arrive the Woodlands House Hotel is just perfect. Whether it is to Reva's Spa, Timmy Mac's or Fielding's Restaurant the welcome you will receive is second to none. Most recently I organised a spa day for a group of family and friends as a pre-wedding party. From my initial panning stages a couple of weeks in advance the staff did absolutely everything possible to accommodate our group. The spa at Reva's is by far one of the nicest I have ever been to and is most deserving of the accolades it receives. Following our thermal suite and treatments our group was then brought to a private relaxation suite, separate from the other spa users.
Later that evening we had dinner in Fielding's restaurant where the Bride to Be was blown away by the little touches such as table decorations and balloons and of course the champagne on arrival!!
All in all a fabulous day was had by all. I would definitely recommend a trip to the Woodland's House Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limknelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review. We were absolutely delighted to receive such great feedback regarding revas spa, Fieldings our new restaurant and Timmy Mac's Bistro. It is very rewarding when a guest comments on the lots of little touches that we do.

In recent times, we have noticed many groups organising hen parties in our spa or even second or mini hen parties for close family and friends. We go to great efforts to make private relaxation and dining facilities available for an extra special group celebration. Following on from that, we are delighted to receive such a great endorsement.

Thanks again for taking the time to submit such a great review. We are glad that this wonderful day set the backdrop for an even better wedding celebration.

We appreciate your loyalty.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the woodlands for 2 night in June. Lovely relaxing decorated hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Timmy Mac excellent food and perfect for our 4 month old baby. Highly recommend it and will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: Good floor was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks Brian for submitting such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your family break.

It is particularly pleasing to note that you appreciate our newly decorated hotel, Timmy Mac's Bistro and our helpful and friendly staff.

As parents of small children ourselves, we appreciate the requirements of families holidaying. We are really delighted that you had such a relaxing break.

Please let us know when you plan to stay again and we will endeavour to provide an upgrade with our compliments.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed three nights in this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. All the staff we met were so helpful and friendly, rooms were lovely and big and the beds so comfy. We ate in Timmy Macs each night and food was lovely, breakfast too. Would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sineadbmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed a great stay with us.

Thanks also for your kind comments on our friendly and helpful staff as well as regarding the spaciousness and decor of our rooms as well as our dining for breakfast and dinner.

There is no greater compliment than when a guest says they will be back. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a complimentary bedroom upgrade.

Thanks again and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at woodlands for a wedding, the staff couldn't be nicer from reception,bar staff, waiting staff and cleaners, everyone was helpful and friendly.

The food at the wedding was fab and eventhough wedding we were at was for 320 seated this did not affect the quality of food and service.

The lobby and bar in the restaurant is very tastefully decorated, the only negative I would have would be the standard of the bedrooms, our room bit dated, maybe we were in one of rooms not revamped yet.

Few niggly things...no iron or ironing board, no table to have ur breakfast at. But apart from that was lovely hotel. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laois78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting your very kind review. Our guests feedback as been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding celebrations and that you consider the food served to be fabulous. We also appreciate your kind words on the friendliness of our staff. It means a lot to us as a team.

Thanks also for your feedback regarding out bedrooms. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment programme of our bedrooms so hopefully on your next visit you will have the opportunity to experience the same.

Please let us know when you will be visiting and we will endeavour to provide a bedroom upgrade with our compliment.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to stop over night on our way down to Kerry and I have to say we had a really lovely stay. The children were delighted with the room, which was a good size and really well presented. We had dinner in the restaurant and both the food and staff were excellent. The only compliant I have and its a small one, as our room was on the groung floor we were unable to open our windown at night as it was a big window and some one could come in. The room was a bit too warm. We will definatly being staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful family stay with us and particularly that you will be back. Our guests loyalty has been the bedrock of our success over the last thirty years.

We take your comments on board about the heating issue. We have a number of fans available so on your next visit if you encounter the same, please ask us for some fans for your bedroom. Also the windows operate a tilt and turn system, so I was surprised to learn that you could not open it slightly. We are checking all of the same to ensure that this functionality is available on all of the relevant windows.

Thanking you once again for your great feedback. Please let us know when you are planning your next stay with us and we will endeavour to provide a bedroom upgrade with our compliments.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,287 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing