We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special 80th”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A rather belated thank you to all the wonderful staff at fitzgeralds who made my father's 80th birthday week-end very special. From the wonderful Anna at reception for which nothing was a problem to the restaurant staff, pool staff,everybody was so attentive and welcoming,despite there being numerous events on at the hotel.This hotel is wonderful with children of which we had 9 the staff went out of their way to accomadate them which took a lot of the stress away from taking children to a hotel (don't think the bigger chains would even know where to begin).Delicious food both in Fieldings and the bistro .Thank you for allowing us to take over the lobby area on the Sunday morning .We will definitely return and do the Revas Spa the next time-without children.

Room Tip: If you have children try and stay on the ground floor as the stairs is very steep to the 2nd floor(w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had an amazing trip to the Rasul mud chamber in the Revas Spa. The staff were amazing and attended to any need we had. The mud chamber itself was very relaxing! We were then taken to the thermal quite area where we indulged on fruit skewers and smoothies in the jacuzzi! It was a fantastic experience that I will definitely indulge in again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrillionBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for one night over the weekend and had a really great experience. Dinner choices were either bistro or fine dining. We choose fine dining option adn we weren't disappointed. The food was great - and unusually plentiful!!! Breakfast the next morning also really surprised with the high standard and quality of food (10 out of 10 for the white pudding!!) Despite there being a large wedding on there was no compromise on quality of food or service. I'd highly recommend this hotel as an alternative to staying in Adare - which is only a few mins away. Also had some entertainment on in the bar that night, which meant no real reason to leave the hotel unless you particularly wanted to. Might be a bit pricey although we booked last minute €110. - but I'll definiately return.

Room Tip: No tips we stayed on the ground floor overlooking carpark-it wasn't noisy and the room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citigirl437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hello

We would like to thank you very much for posting such a lovely review of our hotel as we value all our guests feedback very highly.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in both of our restaurants in our hotel. 'Good Food is our Tradition' and it is always great to see the benefit of our hard work in producing the best quality, locally sourced dishes for our guests. Our pudding is sourced at a local farm, Brouders in Athea. Their traditional puddings are amazing and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the same.We are also glad that you enjoyed the music in our bar.

We acknowledge your comments on pricing and on your next visit, we recommend booking as early as possible on our own website or with our reservations team to enjoy the best rates in our hotel as closer to the arrival date when availability is more limited, room prices can be higher. However, we feel that the spaciousness of our bedrooms and the many facilities onsite make it worth it and clearly given that you are planning to return and given that we have some many repeat friends staying, this is testimony in itself.

We would like to thank you again for posting a lovely review and please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we be happy to offer you a bedroom upgrade with our compliments.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, warm and friendly atmosphere, great leisure/spa facilities and excellent food.

We return again and again, always guaranteed good experience. Very much enjoyed Fieldings, the new restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ddd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had our wedding reception here on the 9th of March 2013. David Fitzgerald and his family were a pleasure to deal with long before the wedding and on the day. All our guests paid lovely compliments on our menu and on the friendly ness of the staff. The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the day ourselves. We would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks again, Sarah and Michael.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flansar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Sarah and Michael,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a lovely review of our Wedding Reception. As we specialise in Wedding it is always great to hear feedback from the couples on the most important day of their lives.

We are very pleased to hear that you found us a pleasure to deal with, we try and make the journey for the bride and groom as easy as possible. We are also delighted that you and your guest enjoyed the reception.

We hope that all is going well for you and we would like to thank you very much for recommending us.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Thank you,
David Fitzgerald and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here after a friends wedding reception, my 5th time staying here at various functions and weddings and nice to see the reception/lobby area has been refurbished.
Great service throughout the day from the attentive staff and management, the Woodlands has a real homely feeling to it.Overall it is hard to find fault but one thing which I have commented on several times and friends who stay here say the same is What is the story with the beds? They are way too soft! I know the hotel take pride in their goose down pillow top matresses but its almost impossible to sleep on them too soft and too hot. Any chance of a standard matress Woodlands?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind review.

We really appreciate your feedback and particularly so given that you are a repeat guest. We are delighted that you like our recent refurbishments of our lobby and bedrooms and that we have still maintained our warm homely feeling.

For the most part, our mattress toppers are celebrated but we appreciate that some guests like yourself prefer a harder mattress. When you are planning your next visit, please let us know and we will remove the topper. We often do this for guests with feather allergies.

We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for your feedback. It is valued!

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had our daughters Christening party in the hotel it was fantastic the room was decorated it was lovely so nice,the food and the staff were excellent I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. Top class services.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiffler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review of our hotel. It is great to hear feedback from our guests as we value their opinions very highly.

We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your daughter's christening. We are also very pleased to hear the staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our food.

We would like to thank you for your recommendations and your support is very much appreciated by our family and team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally it I can assist in hosting any other special events for your family.

Kind regards
Elaina Fitzgerald and Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,719 reviews
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,495 reviews
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: $98 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing