We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, untrustworthy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dirty, untrustworthy staff”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

booked hotel through hotels.com. got room for €95 for the night. when i was checking in, they tried charging €190 which i refused to pay. Lucky for me i had my booking confirmation with me. i then paid cash for the room(€95), and yet they took €50 of my debit card in case we put anything down to the room. when checking out they tried charging me the full €95 again which i told them i had already paid for in cash but that they had no receipt of me paying. it then took the staff half an hour to check if we had paid or not. during this time they we're unfriendly and we were made feel like we were screwing the hotel. eventually when they realized that we had paid there was no sort of apology for making us wait half an hour. the room was full of spiders and cobwebs. bed was really uncomfortable. i got shortchanged at the bar for 2 overpriced drinks. this hotel has potential to be really good but staff are useless and i got the feeling they were trying to rip you off.
i will say one thing, they have a great breakfast and the breakfast staff were wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ziggerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    279
    105
    46
    43
See reviews for
243
480
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Dunraven Arms Hotel in Adare, Ireland is beautiful, comfortable, spacious and charming. The beds are heaven and service was outstanding. The wifi was the fastest I've ever experienced...anywhere! I would recommend anyone who is in the area to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent a night here recently.There was a problem with access to WiFi in the room allocated to me. I was allocated another room without any fuss. The room was spacious with a good sized bathroom and separate dressing area. Breakfast was really good with an excellent selection and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry53186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at the Dunraven! Our room was fabulous! We overlooked the back garden and is was breathtaking. We had one of the best dinners in Ireland at their restaurant. Service was outstanding. Terrific location. We will go back.

Room Tip: Hairdryer is probably from the 1960's, just a warning. Think my grandmother used the same one wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SullivanFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped for lunch recently and the portions were disappointingly small. We were hungry and ordered two hake lunches, chicken nuggets and fries and a soup with ham and cheese sandwich for two adults and two children. We had recently holidayed in Portugal where hake was freely available on the menu for approx. €9. We were expecting a decent sized portion for €14.50 and it was the Daily Special.
My jaw dropped when our food actually arrived at the table.The hake portions were absolutely miniscule, no more than a mouthful to be truthful. I really felt that a dish which cost €14.50 should have contained more fish. The chicken nuggets and chips at €5.50 were the standard frozen offering. The soup was actually very good, as was the sandwich, albeit rather overpriced at €8.50.
Based on our experience, my advise is don't go to the Dunraven Arms Hotel for lunch if you are really hungry!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Owen666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We very much liked our welcome, with the offer of a porter to bring our luggage from the car. Secondly, for housekeeping to provide a sheet for the bed, rather than the thick duvet.
Our room, a standard one I assume, was visually the best of our Irish Tour. It was huge, with a single and a queen sized bed. There was also loads of other furniture, together with a dressing area near to the bathroom. As norm,there were no tea/coffee making facilities.We were told that this was to protect the furniture, which well may be, but we tend to use cups.
Breakfast was impressive, although buffet style, which I am no fan. On our third morning, we discovered a breakfast menu, which may have been useful before.
As you would expect with a corporate style Hotel, all staff were incredibly cheerful and unfailingly professional.
Other than breakfast, we did not eat in the Hotel.Whilst I know that a menu is a list, the Dunravens read more like an inventory,and did not tempt us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alancgreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel, but would have to say it was very impersonal and not a true reflection of Ireland.We could easily have imagined ourselves in any smartish hotel in the UK. Could not fault the staff or quality of room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,287 reviews
9.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Property: Dunraven Arms Hotel
Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing