We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much money for the room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adare Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too much money for the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just returned from a driving tour of southern Ireland, and booked the Adare Manor toward the end of my journey because it looked spectacular. It was spectacular .....except for the room. I booked a upgraded room because it said it was larger than a regular room (and it was because I saw a regular room, and they were closets). It looked like my grandmother decorated it. It was dowdy - the furnishings were worn, the carpet was old, etc.....and it cost $700/night. It did, however, have a huge marble bath with a bidet, but the room was faded elegance, at best.
Now, don't get me wrong, the property is spectacular - the drive up from the gate to the house is grand, and the manor house itself is spectacular - grand spaces, a 2 story entry with a very medieval atmosphere. It's not as old as it appears. It was built in 1840, but still appears medieval.
The restaurant was excellent, and the service was great, but not 5 stars
If you're a golfer, it's the place to stay. The Irish Open had just been held there the week before we stayed there, but I'd say save your money unless you can afford to stay in one of the manor suites (starting at $1,200/night).

  • Liked — grand setting
  • Disliked — room was not up to my standards for the price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WmCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    249
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
515
645
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Spectacular. Absolutely would return and am happy this was the final hotel of the vacation since it was the cherry on the sundae. The service was top-notch beginning with the greeting from John G. at the entrance. The room was spacious for a European hotel and very comfortable. Any and every need is attended to with speed and grace. Breakfast in the morning was of the highest quality. We had tea in the lounge/bar area (I never remember the names of them in these hotels) and the sandwiches and pastries were delicious. Again we chose to eat more casually and had dinner twice in the Carriage House (where the villas are) and the food was very good (housekeeping in the ladies' room less so, but just be quick about it and avert your eyes). The grounds were large, and walking around there and into town was a treat. If only we'd had time for a round of golf!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband and I were really looking forward to our stay at Adare Manor after reading all the good things about it, but found ourselves strangely disappointed.

The outside of the manor is truly lovely and the grounds are spectacular. My husband played golf and found the course to be fantastic.

The staff were friendly and helpful, no complaints there. I guess one issue we had is that it did not feel like we were in Ireland. The hotel had a strangely American feel about it. Our room was quite barren, it felt like it needed more decoration or something, as did some parts of the lodge as well. We did have lovely views over the golf course.

The rooms were also not very soundproof as we were forced to listen to a lady with a voice like a corncrake holding forth with some people in the hall just behind us. They were all in a group attending a wedding so it was a VERY LONG CONVERSATION that lasted well into the night.

We found the meals to be just a bit bland as well, not bad, just not up to the standard that the place deserves as a "grand hotel."

While my husband was playing golf I did have a massage. The treatment was very nice but the facility was a little weird, sort of felt like it was stuffed into a former outbuilding.

We did have a wonderful wander around the grounds and really enjoyed the gardens and woods. The village is also really nice and quaint, with some excellent pubs.

All in all, our visit was pleasant but lacking in the real wow factor that I know the place is capable of. It certainly has the bones with such a lovely building and grounds to work with. It could just use some local feel, and the rooms warmed up a bit.

  • Liked — Building, grounds, golf course
  • Disliked — Bare, noisy rooms, bland food
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

A beautiful country estate lost. Adare Manor is a beautiful structure with a rich history. After a tour of the manor and grounds I can say that I would not stay here. This place is for the average tourist with new money to enjoy or has simple taste. Adare has the feeling of a very nice roadside Best Western. I was very dissatisfied with the lack of decor in such a over rated and highly priced manor house with a polyester feel. From it's very bad paintings, cheap carpets on the wall to give the appearance of tapestry. Not to mention all the wrinkled fabric covered chairs and tables placed on cheap carpets. New management might save this place or bring it up to what it's trying to be.

  • Liked — A Beautiful Structure
  • Disliked — It's lack of details for the price.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tbfairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

Our first visit to Ireland, and it was truly the 'luck of the Irish' that the Aer Lingus package we (2 adults, 2 teens) booked included a week-long stay at Adare Manor. We had a 3-bedroom villa that was to die for. We had a hard time getting the teens out of the villa to see the rest of Ireland! The grounds are a mix of woods, formal gardens, ruins and golf course that invite leisurely walks even if you don't golf. We had tea at the manor one day, and it was amazing. Do not miss it! A bit pricey by US standards, but the quality and value for the money are top notch. The staff was extremely accommodating, even offering to open the gift shop especially for us. Internet access 24/7. A car is a must, and is included with most packages.

  • Liked — The size and luxury of our villa
  • Disliked — There was absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

The three of us purchared an Aer Lingus vacation package from JFK to Shannon airport. The package included accomodation at the Adare Manor Villas in Adare, Ireland (South of Limerick.)

The Adare Manor itself is a mansion/castle, overlooking 800+ acres of beautiful land and manicured golf greens, gardens, and ruins. The villas are new condo-like units fabuously outfitted with gourmet kitchens, comforatble bedrooms with HDTV, large living room with fireplace (albeit fake fire), garden room, en suite full bathrooms, and lovely yards. There is a limited cable selection available, and no DVD players. There is a radio/CD unit in the living room, but we were unable to decipher it.

The staff at Adare Manor were lovely - friendly and accomodating. The villas have all the pots, pans, and equipment for cooking in the kitchen - except we recommend if you plan on making your own meals that you go to the grocery store and stock up on the following basic items that are not provided in the kitchen (along with your own food of course):
--condiments (mustard, mayo, jams/jellies) and stocks
--cooking oil or spray and spices (s+p is provided)
--napkins and/or paper plates/cups
--you get 1 roll of paper towels, you might want more
--you get 2-3 dishwasher tabs, you might want more

What you are not told in advance is that guests ("residents") of the villas have access to all of the Manor facilities, such as the spa, golf club (greens fees are extra, of course), indoor pool & sauna, restaurant, and a tour of the manor can be provided.

A nice feature you learn about at check-in is a 24 hour shuttle service to Adare village that will pick you up at one of the town's restaurants or pubs so you are not stuck trying to park. A hint is that the Heritage Center in town usually has free available parking (and a good snack shop too in the DoveCot restaurant.)

There is a washer/dryer in each villa unit - but Americans will find them tiresome - the washer has a very small capacity and takes over an hour to run; the dryer takes 2-3 hours at least to dry the small washer load. Better to hand wash smaller items and leave dry on the towel warmers in the bathrooms.

The heating system is hot water via programmed radiators - we found them toasty one day, only to be followed by stone cold the next. Maintenance tried to repair same, but you should expect some chilly nights (bring warm robes and slippers.)

The beds/bedding are new and comfy with very firm mattresses. There's a hair dryer in one of the bedrooms, shoe shine pad, and small sewing kit. Two soaps are provided per bathroom but note there is no shampoo or conditioner provided in the bathrooms. If you do not buy maid service (we did not), you may need to buy additional toilet tissue as well. Note that the one grocery in town Centra closes very early at night, and selection is limited.

We had villa unit #8. The master bedroom has a shower head nicely positioned in the tub, but the other bathrooms have shower heads that cannot be pulled down enough - while there is adequate pressure, the direction of the spray makes one stand in the corner. Watch out for the ground floor shower - if you pull it on from the outside it will drench you as it shoots directly toward the shower door.

The map of Adare Manor grounds while pretty, is not entirely accurate. The Ogham stones in particular are not where noted - we spent an hour looking for them. If you are looking at the back of the Manor house, the Ogham stones are behind you in a stand of trees just past the pet cemetery. They are NOT in or near the abbey ruin stone walls - the map makes it look that way, but no.

There is a beautiful ruin nearby (Desmond Castle), but it is currently closed for renovation, and you cannot get to the castle. We tried. Walking though the swampy reeds doesn't work either. We think that those that play golf may have access - but we poor pedestrians are locked out of that side of the river.

You can walk from the villas to Adare town via a pedestrian short cut gate - the map you are given has the secret access code to punch into the gate on the return.

We liked O'Connor's pub in Adare for the fish & chips and fresh Guinness. We also ate at the Chinese restaurant, and found it adequate.

We ate at the golf club for lunch and found the food to be very tasty and well prepared. Service tends to slow. We also enjoyed an afternoon tea in the Manor house and received great service. We are told the dinner in the Manor house is very good (but we found the prices to be high.)

All in all, if you want a luxury villa as a base operation for 1-2 hour day drives from Adare, with access to golfing, pubs, restaurants, and historical sights, Adare Manor Villas are for you.

  • Liked — Beautiful villa and manor, grounds, and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Everything was the best. If I had to choose, it would be the washer/dryer.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whizzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Adare Manor. It was the best day of our lives! Everyone at the Manor was overly helpful, from handing out gift bags to picking up my wedding dress from the drycleaner. Everyone went out of their way to make our day amazing. Our guests are still talking about the food, the wine and the attention paid to details. Thank you Adare Manor!!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McSorley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
9.0 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor

Property: Adare Manor
Address: Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lush heartlands of County Limerick, Adare Manor is one of Ireland's most evocative and spellbinding castle hotels. Steeped in exotic history and surrounded by medieval ruins, its 840-acre demesne is home to beautiful parklands, superb trout fishing on the river Maigue, and a renowned 18 hole championship golf course. Unique and individual accommodation, the best of contemporary Irish food in an incomparable setting, and the highest standards of modern hospitality are hallmarks of the Manor experience. Adare Manor is a 25 minute drive from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing