We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tried to eat here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sean Collins & Sons Bar

Sean Collins & Sons Bar
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Seán Collins & Sons bar is a traditional Irish Bar on the Main Street of Adare. Along with serving the best Guinness in Adare Seán Collins & Sons bar also serves a range of local craft beers, a great range of Wines and a large selection of internatinal spirits. The Bar also has a large menu and provided customers with a varied range of food options to suit all tastes. Seán Collins & Sons bar is an owner/operated bar and Seán is always on hand to serve and chat with customers. Be sure to call by when your in Adare. We are looking forward to meeting you.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tried to eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

hey we tried to eat here but we were never waited on. we seemed to have gotten lost in the shuffle. this worked to our advantage because we went down the street and ate at Wild Geese. The best place hands down!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank atomhrtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    134
    38
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Grabbed a quick bowl of Irish beef stew with brown bread at the bar. Yummy! The locals were friendly and the staff was attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CPACHIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Warm treatment for Americans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

On our recent trip to Ireland and the small town of Adare, I think we must have hit every pub in town. The Irish people were warm, friendly and welcoming everywhere we went! Sean Collins was no exception. We recently read a nasty review about this establishment and had to see for ourselves. Sean was most accommodating and even offered to take photos of our group. We brought Sean a shot glass from San Antonio to show him we Americans have a sense of humor! He seemed touched and promptly put it on his bar shelf. Perhaps if you visit, you could add to his collection??? We did not have a chance to eat there but the bar service was friendly and prompt even thought he pub got busy with a tour group. Thank you Sean!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SATraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

make this spot an ideal place to rest your legs after doing the shops in Adare or visiting the sights. You will also be greeted by Sean Collins himself for a friendly chat. The cast iron stove in the hearth is a family memento.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank adrianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Great Family Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Like another reviewer said, Sean Collins became 'our pub' while we stayed in Adare. We were in Adare for 4 days and ate there 3 of the nights. All the food is fantastic and the atmosphere is great. The Irish music is lively but subtle enough not to make the pub to loud. Sean and his family are friendly and welcoming. In fact, I am an extremely picky eater, but they went out of their way to find something I could eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sean Collins & Sons Bar also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
 
Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Sean Collins & Sons Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing