We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food great choice”
Review of Timmy Macs Bistro

Timmy Macs Bistro
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the family-run Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, Timmy Mac's is an informal and welcoming restaurant offering Irish dining at its most traditional. Cream and green tones add a vibrant touch to the rustic interior, where hearty home-cooked dishes are served next to the crackling open hearth fire. Visitors can choose from our extensive menu, which includes healthy eating options, while enjoying some good old fashioned hospitality. The cottage garden is perfect for laid-back summertime barbecues, with seating in the thatched gazebo or outdoor dining area. Entertainment is courtesy of a buzzy crowd of musicians, storytellers and Irish dancers, as well as the popular thatched games area.
limerocl
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic food great choice”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the food here is great the choice was second to none
staff very helpful and nothing was a bother well woth a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dicey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    42
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wholesome tasty grub”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Cosy unfussy place, bit like eating in a country farmhouse kitchen. I had starter of mushrooms with a garlic dip & main course of roast beef. Tasty perfectly cooked served with roast potato & veg, dessert & coffee all for 25 euro from the daily special menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank oasisvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guaranteed Timmys”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are regulars at Timmys where you always get decent unpretentious fare for reasonable money. The black pudding starter is a legend and the steaks and sea bass are always excellent. The bistro is very atmospheric and the emphasis on sourcing local food is fantastic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padraig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventry, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Okay food - slow service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I hadn't been here for quite a few years so made a return visit just after New Year. The quality of the food was fine and cooked well, but the portions of rice and noodle which accompanied our mains courses were very small.

The waiting staff were very pleasant but we had to wait a long time between starter and main course. The restaurant was not busy, there were lots of waiting staff, but not too many it seems in the kitchen.

I am all for restaurants acknowledging local suppliers, but they really over-egg it here. When we asked what were "farm house style potatoes", we were told "mash" - which is perfectly acceptable. So, why do they have use nonsense descriptors for plain decent food?

Timmy Mac's has a lot to offer, but the whole "diddly-eye" theme is taken too far

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have eaten in Timmy Mac's many times but this was our best experience in terms of the food. The €25 pp menu was superb. We had the chicken and mushroom vol-au-vents which were gorgeous. Then had the beef - wow (!!!) and for desert I had apple crumble (huge portion) and tea. Since they have changed the menu there is still a great choice - though bring back the chicken maryland. Will definitely bring my friends there again soon as it was delish! Only drawback was that the room was quite chilly (should have choosen the table by the fire but we choose our usual seat).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robynbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmy Macs Bistro also viewed

 
 
Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Timmy Macs Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing