We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended in Adare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Door

The Blue Door
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Recommended in Adare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our B & B hostess as the one we had originally wanted to go to was closed. We were very glad as the food was quite good. The venue is charming and the service very good as well. I actually ended up eating more than I usually do as I couldn't resist the dessert menu. Prices were the same as most places in Ireland, not cheap by any means. Actually I found the desserts a bit pricey considering its location as our B&B was very reasonably priced. However, the food was very good and as you are on holiday might as well spend what it is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignatedPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    121
    42
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best thing I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We happened upon the blue door as it was a Monday and many of the other restaurants were closed. I was delighted by how delicious everything was. I ordered the three course early-bird special. It started with a tomato and buffalo mozzarella tart that was without a doubt, the best thing I have ever eaten. The main course was a spinach and ricotta canneloni - also delicious. And a vanilla Panna Cotta for desert. Not a single bad thing that I can say about this place. The staff was friendly, service was fast, and everyone had a delicious meal!! If you happen to be in the small town of Adare, The Blue Door is a must visit!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, kind people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our meal at the Blue Door occurred because of a flat. We walked in to try and figure out what to do next and discovered a wonderful restaurant. All three courses were excellent. The duck was simply amazing as was the sticky butterscotch toffee dessert. This restaurant would do very well in any major city.

Also the staff were extremely kind: recommending people who could help us and even loaning us a phone so that we could arrange for repairs. They helped turn what could have been a very unpleasant time into a lovely adventure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 33trav99lert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The village of Adare is beautiful! We had supper at The Blue Door Restaurant. Our server Grace was professional, but personable. The food was excellent. My friend dining with me has several food allergies. Grace took the time to check on all we had ordered to make sure we would not have any problems. People don't take allergies seriously, we have spent too many hours in emergency rooms because of it.
We will remember our trip to Ireland, fondly. Grace, Thank you for your pleasant demeanor and your hospitality.
Mr. Brian Hayes, proprietor, I hope you realize what a gem you have in Grace as one of your employees.

Respectfully,
Duane Allen Bales

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dab72653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I had a delicious meal at this restaurant in May of 2014. I ordered the salmon which came with two different sauces, both of which were excellent. My wife had the duck which was even better than the salmon. The side dishes were unremarkable but sadly that was the case with most of our meals in Ireland. I can strongly recommend this restaurant for the duck and salmon. I will note the service was attentive and friendly but very casual. It did not bother us but some diners may be put off by the informality of the servers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaMookR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to The Blue Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing