We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Door

The Blue Door
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited the Blue Door recently and had really delicious food.
The restaurant offers and 2 and 3 course value menu with plenty of choice as well as the a la carte menu.
The portions were plentiful, Cod and Fillet steak and a good wine list with lots of choice.
We were pleasantly surprised by our visit to The Blue Door.
A cosy atmosphere and friendly staff made our visit most enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    121
    42
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Blue Door cafe is typically quaint Irish and the food is very good. The eating area is quite small, but the atmosphere is friendly, nice and cosy. Highly recommend this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompsona96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Serendipitous find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to find parking in Adair right in front of this restaraunt at lunch time. The thatched roof and charming cottage made us curious. The food was quite good and the server so very friendly (as are most Irish).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner in Adare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The restaurant is small and comfortable dinner. There was a nice selection to choose from.the portions were in line with our expectations. The food was hot and served promptly.
We we're a group of 4 all liked there meal. The service was ice and we never felt rushed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We noticed this restaurant as we drove thru Adair and made a quick reservation for that evening. Loved the fact it was so small and cozy...The duck was surely one of the best meals we have ever had. The service was excellent and we would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to The Blue Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing