We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resturant”

Wild Geese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Wild Geese restaurant is centrally located in the historic village of Adare Co.Limerick, occupying one of the original thatched cottages dating from the 1820's. The restaurant, with its beautiful doll-like settings, lends itself to a relaxing and atmospheric fine dining experience with seating for up to sixty people. The perfect venue for pre and post wedding parties, romantic meals and ideal for a business dinner to showcase the best of locally sourced food. Menus, opening hours, special offers are available on our website.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Resturant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I ate here on our second night staying at Adare Manor. We were pleased with the meal and the service. I would suggest making a reservation however as there is limited seating. The decor and ambiance was wonderful. We were offerred drinks in the Parlor to start where we met two other couples who were locals to Adare. They were pleasant to talk to and gave us suggestions on places to see while in Ireland. We enjoyed the fact that locals also ate here! We were then brought upstairs where the diningroom was. There were only 6 tables in the room and the room was quite dark. We were offerred drinks and had time to look over the menu. I can't recall what we ordered but I remember it being delicious! Afterwards we walked accross the street to a few of the bars where we had a few drinks before going to bed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kkane0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    65
    25
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I live locally and wanted to take a friend somewhere nice on her birthday and had been recommend the Wild Geese. 2 friends and I arrived and were taken to the sitting room for a drink. When they came in to take our order I mentioned that the birthday girl should order first. Fair play to them as later on her desert arrived out with a candle on it. Really good food and found the portions a very good size. Oh and if you are up for it get the sharing platter of dessert for two. You won’t be disappointed, it made my night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Limgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food and frendly staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely small restaurant with a very friendly family feel.

The food was excellent and well priced.

I was staying in the Dunraven arms, which is just across the road, making this an ideal location for a short 30 second walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank quirdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a fantastic surprise!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of those little hidden gems that makes your day when you find it.
We were across the road in the Dunraven Arms hotel and we had spotted the wild geese earlier in the day.
We were lucky enough to get a table on the fly and from the start it was a pleasure .

Like others the before dinner drink is in a quirky front room with the drinks cabinet and despite then confused eyes on us we were served up with a cold draught beer and a cosmopolitan to meet the standards of any high end bar.

The food was amazing from seafood to meats both starters and main course and the wine list to match was excellent.


I would actually return to Adare to have the pleasure of dining here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place but not on a budget”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here with the wife. Brought into the front room on a crinkled leather sofa to have an aperitif poured from a drinks cabinet. Nice food. Good service. But you pay for it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Geese Restaurant also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 
Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Wild Geese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing