We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cryan's Quay Side Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

lovely hotel,good food,great room,and friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had not booked anything, just parked our car outside, walked in and a friendly receptionist gave us one of their best family rooms. We entered a somewhat dodgy elevator and found our spacious room on the second floor. It had a marvellous view over the marina, the waterfront and the sunset on the river Shannon, The hotel is centrally located for a pubcrawl or a small shopping tour without any driving.
We experienced some noise from the main Dublin road below our windows, but there seemed to be good insulation, and the noise did not bother any of us or affect our sleep.
Very friendly and helpful receptionist and staff.
Excellent restaurant on the ground floor, discounted prices before 7 pm, waitress helpful but not intrusive.
We were made feel important and very welcome.
The pricerange was quite reasonable, both in the restaurant and in the hotel as such.
Next morning's Full Irish Breakfast could not have been better, extraordinary nice sausages and puddings. Even the coffee was above average, and that's rare in Ireland.
We'd like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lamplighter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with a group of friends on a stag night, really taught that they might not have much time for a group of lad's out for a mad night but i have to say the staff were great and had no problem with dealing with anything they were asked. The rooms were beautiful and spotless. Some of the lad's had had lunch and said it was lovely breakfast also was the next morning. Overall i have to say a fantastic hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went there for food. My friend who grew up with Cryans couldnt recommend it highly enough was very disappointed.

We ordered two dinners, my friend asked for no bacon which was done with no hassle, only to be given creamed potatoes with bacon in. Staff really need to pay attention. There was no apology when I requested they be taken back as my friend did not want to cause a fuss.

Value you for money...what value? 18 euros for a dinner each an you are given a bowl of creamed and bacon potatoes and veg to share. This was shocking! I expect when paying that money that you would get a bowl each and be asked if you have a preference for potatoes or chips. I was not asked and my friend was only half listened too.

This is clearly not the place my friend talks so dearly about and she may not wish to complain but I do.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoscommonRose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights in early November. We were lodged in this hotel while we attended a conference at the Landmark hotel next door. The room was comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Breakfast was adequate. We had dinner on one night and it was like going back in time. The portions were huge and the cooking as unpretentious. The service was friendly. At 99 euros per night bed and breakfast in November, it would be a bit overpriced as Carrick on Shannon is hardly an upmarket destination. They should charge less. The noise on the Saturday night as hen and stags spilled out of the nightclubs was unbelievable. Avoid at the weekends unless you like staying out late.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank irishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Beautiful hotel with lovely rooms overlooking the river. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Lovely decor in the room, everything was matching and in place. Can't fault it in any way, did not get to taste the food as we had to leave early the next day but will return to do so. The parking was quite tight with not much room but over all was very happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxx34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were delighted with our large room overlooking the river. We ate dinner and breakfast here, and the staff were so friendly and helpful, although frantically busy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twoatemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.2 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#6 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cryan's Quay Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cryan's Quay Side Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Carrick-on-Shannon NA, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cryans Hotel in Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim, has retained its old world charm seldom seen in modern Ireland. Nestled right in the heart of Carrick on Shannon, this Leitrim hotel situated on the banks of the River Shannon is the perfect getaway to relax and soak up some genuine Irish hospitality. At the same time, you’re less than a minute away from the hustle and bustle of all the local pubs, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cryans Quay Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing