We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate rooms. Professional staff. Fabulous breakfast.”
Review of Ciuin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ciuin House
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We selected the Ciuin House online from their website as we were planning to visit family in County Leitrim. Fiona and Barry the proprietors were anticipating our arrival and helped us get settled into two spacious, well appointed, and immaculate rooms. My husband and I had one room with a sitting area, armoire, desk, and a very spacious modern bath. Our young adult children were situated down the hall in another room with the same amenities.

The dining room and parlor area was just as depicted on their website. Beautiful. The full Irish Breakfast was essentially anything we wanted and one of the best we had during our Ireland stay. Since we were staying on the upper floor our rooms had skylights/windows which opened and took fabulous panoramic photos of the surrounding countryside.

Our only regret is that we could not have spent more time at the Ciuin House since we were visiting family and were traveling around Ireland. Our other stays in Ireland included the Ballynahinch and Dromoland castles and we can honestly assert that the accommodations at the Ciuin House were equally on par with what you would expect at a fine establishment.

We highly recommend the Ciuin House and assure you that you will have a pleasant, relaxing, quiet (it's in their name), and welcoming experience during your stay. Not to be missed.

Ron and Gina M.
New York

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

A bit out of town, but very comfortable, impeccably clean, a good restaurant and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We had a wonderful room, light and spacious, comfortable arm chairs and really comfortable beds. A large bathroom was well appointed and had everything we might need. A good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieMoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Really enjoyed the stay at this guest house. Owners/staff very firendly and helpful. Top class food in the restaurant and accommodation was great. I would highly recommned this guest house to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uaimh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Have just returned from a weekend in ciuin house and found it to be a really great place with some lovely touches. Crayons, colouring books and toys appeared for my niece and nephew at dinnertime and later on extra baby blankets appeared as if by magic! We ate here on both nights and the food and wine were both excellent and of very good quality and variety including thai- style ostrich which we really enjoyed. On the second night there was a large group in the dining room and we were given the option of eating in the pleasant, modern sitting room with optional use of large screen tv and music system. The bedrooms are also modern and comfortable. All round an excellent place to stay in Carrick-on-Shannon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is more than a standard guesthouse. Organised a hen party for 17 and we were treated like royality. From the moment we arrived Fiona and her staff were outstanding. The whole atmosphere of the place makes you feel like you are at home. So relaxing and enjoyable. The food was out of this world. 17 mouths to feed and not one problem. Nothing but praise for this wonderful place and will be recommending it to everyone. Thank you for a most memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mduignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Very disappointed, website pictures are mostly of sitting room which is nice, but the house is a new build and accommodation was similar in style to most ordinary hotel bedrooms. Dining room and bedrooms lacking in any character or individual style. Rooms at the back are cramped and noisy if window is open (I think due to refrigeration unit outside). Did not feel it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ZasIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry12Leitrim, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2008

With regard to the review on the 20th August 2007, I feel it is misrepresenting my business and premises in a very negative light and would asked that this comment be removed with immediate effect. We have been reviewed by Georgina Campbells Ireland 2008 and have quoted her comments in the next paragraph. We have also been reviewed by Board Failte Quality Advisor who states "the premises is very well maintained and the provision of care and comfort for guests is evident" They are satisfied that the premises is "meeting with the regulations requirements and classification requirements for 4*" (January 2008)

Our website is very professional and accurate. It clearly shows images of the whole premises to include bedrooms "warmly furnished to a high standard and very well appointed with orthopaedic beds and have all the in-room facilities expected of an hotel, and some of the pristine bathrooms have Jacuzzi baths", restaurant which is "a bright and airy and opens onto a paved area with outside seating in fine weather", lounge area "furnished with style" and the outside with a patio area at the back of the premises where there is ample parking and private garden areas.

With regard to the refridgeration unit at the back of the guesthouse, this is a sealed unit and connected to the kitchen (as with every hotel and guesthouse). Management makes every effort to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum hence the reason we are called "Ciuin House"! In the two and a half years the business has been in operation, we have never had a compliant about any noise from guests staying at the front or back of the guesthouse!

We welcome constructive comments/feeback from our guests and we act on them accordingly.

For anyone needing further clarification, check out the other comments on Trip Advisor Site and log on to our website and see all the facilities and positives reviews for yourself!

"Ciuin" means tranquill/still and we endeavor to ensure our guests enjoy the "Ciuin" House Experience. A a hallmark of our establishment is out customer service standards, our food and hospitility.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This really is one of the best B&B's i've ever stayed in. I'd recommend it everyone. I couldn't say anything bad about the place. The staff, service and accommodation were out of this world.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank llisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
1.5 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#15 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciuin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciuin House

Address: Hartley, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciuin House is a high quality low cost B&B facilitating group accommodation. Ciuin House can accommodate 42 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ciuin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing