We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of Ciuin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ciuin House
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here with 12 friends. Barry and Fiona the owners done everything they could to making our weekend an enjoyable experience. From organising taxi to picking us up at train station to dropping us back on the Sunday we were really well looked after. Highly recommend this guesthouse for groups or couples

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcClave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I honestly can say that this is the best B+B type accommodation I have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. I had a fantastically positive stay here. Friendliness exudes from every pore of this place. The owners make this place, without intruding on your stay here.

This is really a great place to stay in. The rave reviews about the hosts of this venue really do hold true. They are friendly, welcoming,relaxed, interested in their guests having a good time and genuinely care that their guests have a good time.

The accommodation is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and modern.
The breakfast was generous, tasty and timed to suit the guests as opposed to the Hosts needs.

I was very unsure when I first read the reviews that they were genuine, but as soon as I arrived I realised that they were true.

As a venue for a stag, a weekend away for a family (unbelieveably, the place can cater for both, similtaneoously!) this place has it all.

This place is a real gem....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docmait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifimccluskey4, Owner at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

On behalf of the Team here at Ciuin House we would like to extend our appreciation for the kind comments made by the reviewer.We are delighted to know that our customer service standards are' spot on' and that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that the hospitality,welcome,facilities,breakfast and local amenities, meet (or indeed exceed) their expectations! We are 100% committed to extending a warm,friendly and genuine welcome to ALL our Guests, and to ensuring that their stay with us is geared towards their needs, rather than on a standard operational/business model, so we are very happy indeed to read such positive reviews such as this one . We appreciate feedback as it gives us an opportunity to correct any problems immediately and to turn a possible negative into a positive! We have found our Stag and Hen Groups to be courteous,good humored,interested in enjoying all that Carrickonshannon/Leitrim has to offer, and promising to come back .If we have contributed to this then we have done a good job and are very proud Proprietors/Managers.Thank You Very Much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

i stayed in Ciuin house last weekend as part of a stag party, i cannot fault it. Spotless comfortable rooms, lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff could not do enough for us. breakfast was better than i have had in many "good" hotels and there was plenty of everything. the showers are amazing too! you wont want to get out of them. All in all lovely place. well done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bundywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifimccluskey4, Owner at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

On behalf of the Team here at Ciuin House we would like to extend our sincere thanks to the reviewer for his positive comments.We are delighted that this Stag Group enjoyed their stay with us and enjoyed all our facilities and the reviewer will return with their family in future as they could see that their is ample room to cater for the differing needs of our guests, and indeed that is our primary aim . We are committed to ensuring that ALL our guests are made feel welcome and are happy to recommend us to others as this is this' word of mouth approach' and Reviews such as this one on Trip Advisor by guests is what makes it all worthwhile! As the owners/managers we appreciate feedback from our customers as it gives us the opportunity to improve should there be an area needing attention.We are especially delighted that reviews mention our breakfast as we take great pride in offering homecooked fresh produce and believe that a hearty healthy breakfast is a great way to start the day .Our breakfast Chef is especially delighted at the positive comments. We will continue to ensure that our guests have as enjoyable a time as this reviewer did! Many Thanks..Owner/Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed this past weekend with a group of 13. Yes, it was a stag and generally on these nights away your expectations for lodging are kept to a low standard. I have to say Ciuin House went against everything we were expecting! Top rooms, comfy bed, great breakfast in the morning with nice little touches and very welcoming hosts! I'll stay again and next time I'll bring my family. Location's around a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shine091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

barry & fiona are 2nd to none hosts . nothing was too much for both of them to make our stay as comfortable as we wanted . in the door 15 mins & out with crayons colouring books the lot , v child friendly would recomend to any couple with small kids . thanks for a great weekend . the big 60 group!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We loved it. Got fantastic service it's so clean and it's under new management. They could not be nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desok2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Ciuin House is a a small (15 rooms) modern hotel on the edge of Carrick-on-Shannon about half a mile from the main part of town. The first thing that struck me about the hotel was the cleanliness; this is a recently built hotel and every wall and surface gleamed. The bathrooms were all spotless and my wife had a sneaky peak at the kitchen. She swore that it was as spotless as a hosptal operating theatre and my wife is not generally known for being easily impressed.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and their team. All food was made from fresh, local produce, cooked to a very high standard and served in a friendly but professional style. Off-menu items (pizza and chips) for the fussier kids were not a problem.

This isn't so much a family-run business as a labour of love where the owners strive (very successfully) to offer a near perfect hotel experience. I really couldn't recommend Ciuin House highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
1.5 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#15 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
74 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#6 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciuin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciuin House

Address: Hartley, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $93 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciuin House is a high quality low cost B&B facilitating group accommodation. Ciuin House can accommodate 42 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ciuin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing