We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a teabreak”

Coffey's Pastry Case
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good place for a teabreak”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

When passing through Carrick-on-Shannon I used stop at hotels for a break until I discovered Coffeys. This is a no-nonsense simple little coffee shop. It could actually do with a little make-over as the seating area is a little drab and dated. However, that is the only flaw. They serve lovely freshly backed scones, tarts, cakes and bread. And the price is reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This coffee shop is right by the only coach stop in town, so a good place to wait for any bus, out of the wind. It's a serve yourself, but second cups of coffee are included.... a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Last week I ordered 2 cakes which were in no way what I would call cheap. One was €15 and the other €20, I also spent another €10 on buns. When my husband went back to collect said cakes my 3yr old son was with him. He automatically (as any child would) picked a sweet from a fairy cake inside the door on a low shelf, my husband was charged immediately for the fairy cake after having already forked out €45! If you dont want kids at the buns please place them high up. I would never recommend to anyone to buy a cake from you again or bring children into the shop if this is how you treat customers who do spend a lot there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrsmc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tired, tasteless tea house”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very dated self-service tea house. The upstairs looks out over the boats on the shannon, a welcome distraction from the dated, grim interior. Mix matched cups and saucers, heat rings on the heavy, awkward tables. The chairs are uncomfortable and cumbersome. You sip your latte hoping that this place has some saving grace. Nope. More milk than 'coffee', your friend nods grimly as their americano lacks anything that resembles coffee as we know it. Biting into your dry, shriveled eclair you wonder why this place has remained in 1982, a relic of the last recession. The sort of tired place that could only exist in the west of Ireland, where some towns don't seem too keen to modernize. A last resort in a town that severly lacks a decent tea shop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MsMitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffey's Pastry Case also viewed

Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to Coffey's Pastry Case? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing