We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Indian food, this place is good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrat

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shamrat
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you like Indian food, this place is good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Okay, not may Indian diners in Carrick but this place ticks all the boxes.
Menu is varied but perhaps could be enhanced by offering some SET DINNERS.
Service is prompt and efficient. And the price is right.
Strangely, it probably doesn't do as well as it should - the three or four times we visited, it was easy enough to get a table on weekend nights.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely staff, just bring your own wine! Definitely go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great food, lovely staff, definitely go! We didn't realise that it was byo so that's my best tip!
Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosiebell42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We eat in the Shamrat regularly and always enjoy both our meals and the friendly staff. The only restaurant in the area where we dont feel ripped off. No problem in bringing your own wine or beer and no corkage is charged. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeriLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great value, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is nestled right in the heart of Carrick-on-Shannon. The staff are really friendly and efficient. I ate here today with a large group - and the spacious layout meant it was really comfortable for our party of 7. One of the members of the group informed me that the restaurant allows people to bring their own alcohol - and does not charge a corkage fee - which the restaurant manager confirmed to be the case.

Poppadoms and selection of dips were brought out to start while we waited to order. As someone who enjoys making curries myself, I would recommend going with the more tomato-based curries as they taste that little bit more authentic. But to be quite honest, their Sunday lunch offer includes a three course meal (choice of starter, main course incl. naan or rice, and dessert or coffee) for €7.50. The total bill for our entire group (including extra coffees and soft drinks) came to less than €55...this place would be ideal for any large hen/stag parties or groups staying on the cruisers with the added bonus that you can bring your own booze.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely people, terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate here on Thursday, 23rd August 2012 having just returned from a week's cruising on the River Shannon. Having either been eating canned food on the boat or very nice Irish pub food all week, we were ready for a curry. We were faced with either the Himalayan Indian Restaurant or the Shamrat, both of whom were offering an early evening menu for 17.95 Euro or thereabouts per person. Deciding that the Shamrat looked nicer, we went there.

Two very positive things to say about the Shamrat are that the interior is very well layed out and spacious and the staff are very friendly indeed; almost too friendly, possibly. However, the food really let the place down. Apart from the sheik kebab that I ordered for starters, everything else was awful: my wife's mixed starter consisted of a lot of very greasy deep fried things and she insisted on sharing this with me and taking half of mine! The main courses (mine a chicken madras and my wife's was something made with lamb) were totally out of balance spice wise and did not even taste like curry. The pilau rice that we ordered arrived as lemon rice (we really should have complained but were too tired), but the naan bread was actually very good.

In summary, if you want to chat with very friendly staff and eat sheilk kebab with naan bread, this is the place for you; if not then I would give the Himalayan a try although I cannot say what it is like.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrat also viewed

Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to Shamrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing