We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent recommendation Tripadvisor!”
Review of Himalayan

Himalayan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent recommendation Tripadvisor!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped here last Sunday evening on our way from Dublin to Sligo with our three tired little girls in tow and the rain pouring down outside....so glad we did.. excellent indian food,great pleasant service,nothing was any trouble and the girls were made feel very welcome..not busy in restaurant but a hectic takeaway business!...I would highly recommend and agree with all the other positive comments posted,we will definately return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian Eatery”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Pity this restaurant is in such a small town but if you happen to be in Carrick-on-Shannon and you want to taste some genuine oriental cooking, then this is the place to go.

Exquisite food, top notch service, extensive menu and very reasonable prices. Granted, the place could do with a little more decor and even perhaps a better wine list, but in no way should this detract you from enjoying what this restaurant has to offer.

Thank you - we'll be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NSKGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best value. Authentic Indian.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Three of us got takeaway from Himalayan- 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 rice and 3 naan for €51! We live in Dublin and would have paid well over €100 for the same. Chicken tikka masala, chicken madras and chicken pasanda were our mains. We enjoyed onion bhaji, lamb sheekh and samosas to start. Food was fresh, flavourful and fantastic value. It's the place to done in Carrick!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlunden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian restaurant in Carrick On Shannon”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This restaurant serves beautiful authentic indian food at very reasonable prices.We enjoyed it thoroughly and would recommend it to anyone.It is situated very close to the bush hotel where we were staying.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Matchs previous reviews. Food was tasty with a good choice of chefs specials of which i had one and loved

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellinisnewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan also viewed

Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing