We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food and great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boardwalk Cafe

The Boardwalk Cafe
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely food and great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant, have been here on numerous occasions. Staff lovely and quite reasonable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shar1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    17
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food & Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very Reasonable prices and delicious food. The staff were very friendly and the wait time was very quick

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BCC664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leitrim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely food but can take some time if you arrive for lunch. Daily Specials are a great idea and are good value

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Boardwalk revisited!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After giving a bad review on the Boardwalk Cafe previously I had decided to try it out again on numerous occasions (Lunch/dinner/hen party/ birthday party) mainly due to the fact Aoife McCormack rang to apologise on behalf of the team there (which does help and promises that it will change!!!)and because I am a local to carrick on shannon and I like to support local if I can at all. Unfortunately it is the same story. It is a waiting game when you enter the Boardwalk cafe, every time I come out of it, I say its the last time as im soo fed up of the bad service there. The food is quiet tasty and appealing, and it is a nice place in general to bring friends, but it is such a pity about the service. unless they do take away, im afraid i wont be returning unless i have nothing else to be at in the day!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ok food but very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Had a meal here with friends. There was no atmosphere, and it was pretty cool and draughty. The service was fine and there was a large selection on the menu but it was extraordinarily expensive. Starters ranged from €8.50 to €11.50 and the mains went from €15 to €26. I had the chicken liver pâté to start, it was ok with plain toast, the bought in pâté and bought in relish. The 10oz I ordered was of good size but I ordered rare and got medium well, it was dear at €27. Selection of ice cream for dessert was fine. In all, for the cost of the meal it should have been a good deal better. I think if this place put A pit of effort into the little things on each dish it would serve them well. It charged near fine dining prices for what essentially was hotel bar food. If the prices were more reasonable this could be a reasonable place to eat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boardwalk Cafe also viewed

Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to The Boardwalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing