We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Irish treasure”
Review of Hollywell

Hollywell
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywell
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is the sort of B&B one dreams of. The owners have created a home to be proud of and demonstrate that pride in the way they look after you. Two of the bedrooms are bigger than most guests would have at home and all rooms are furnished with care, period and comfort in mind. One could not tire of the views across the gardens and the river. Hollywell House is two minutes walk from the town centre but is calm and quiet. Excellent restaurants and pubs with traditional Irish hospitality and entertainment are on the doorstep. High quality breakfast is provided tailored to the needs of the guests. Tom and Rosaleen balance friendliness and professionalism perfectly. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Hollywell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Here's the ultimate praise: our jaded 14-year-old son said this was his favorite stay on the whole of our two weeks in Ireland. The four of us stayed together in the largest room, and he said it felt like home: warm, welcoming, beautiful furnishings, and the marvelous hospitality of the owners, who spent time with us orienting us and helping us figure out where to go. It was wonderful feeling like we were getting a taste of an older Ireland. I echo all the other positive reviews on this page.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampbellFamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here during the big freeze for a wedding in the town. This is an amazing house. It is faultless. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The room, breakfast, service, location and value was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jptGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed in Hollywell for one night and were terribly sad to leave it. It was the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in. The house is set on a hill, less than 5 mins walk from the town centre, overlooking the river shannon. It couldn't be more scenic. The bedroom was absolutely huge with high ceilings, original sash windows and various original features. The view from our room looked directly onto the front garden and the shannon.

Tom and Rosaleen couldn't do enough for us. The room where we had breakfast was beautiful, with a baby grand piano in the corner. They was very accommodating towards our vegetarian requirements.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Hollywell take a look at my photos and you'll see why, it has won several awards over 7 consecutive years and you can definitely understand why. You'd be mad to stay anywhere else in Carrick. I am already planning our next trip back there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed in room no 2 on Friday and Saturday night. We received a very warm and genuine welcome and were very well treated during our stay. It's a lovely old house and is very well maintained. We had a wonderful view of the river from our room. The breakfast was very good as well - it's great to see real tea in use, i.e. tea leaves. I would recommend this to anyone. It's just after the bridge so it's very close to town and very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ri_ra_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed in room number one which was large, comfortable and blessed with a beautiful view over the river. It was quite "chintzy" so not quite to my husband's taste, but very much in keeping with a period property.

Tom and Rosaleen gave us a warm welcome. The breakfast was not quite as superb as I'd been led to believe from the reviews, but was still tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Just got back to England after a two night break at Hollywell. We had a great time and the house and views are wonderful with a short walk over the bridge to town.
Very comfortable spacious rooms and a marvellous Irish breakfast to set you up for the day.
We will definitely make this the venue of choice for our future visits to Carrick!
Tom and Rosaleen are excellent hosts and we left very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Throstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
0.3 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#6 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywell

Address: Liberty Hill, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $41 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing