We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a very pleasant stay”
Review of Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landmark Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed 1 night on Wednesday 5th February. Lovely hotel with great decor......funky pictures of ducks everywhere. Very friendly staff....lovely wee girl on reception, bar staff were very good as was Teresa who served us a lovely breakfast
We had a lovely meal in the bar( I had the burger which was very tasty)
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Slightly hard to get to sleep with the noise of traffic
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Margaret

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review of you recent stay with us at The Landmark Hotel.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent quality and service standards and we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed stay and that you found the staff to be attentive. Your compliments have been shared with the entire Landmark team. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Landmark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 520 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed her on 25th Jan as part of a group of 18 to celebrate my brother's 40th birthday at a cost of €99 per person for 1 night. This covered 1 night B & B, 3 course evening meal, entry to night-club & complimentary cocktail in night-club.

The positives about this hotel are its lovely location, very helpful & friendly staff, beautifully presented breakfast and great party-organisers.

The negatives however, are more extensive -:
(a) the quality of the accommodation was very poor - the bedroom was quite small and overcrowded with heavy furniture, the bed sagged and squeaked; the carpets in the common areas were threadbare; the decor of ducks, ducks & more ducks in reception area was very off-putting and I generally felt that the place looked neglected.
(b) it was almost impossible to get served in the bar
(c) there was a terrible smell in the night-club and the toilets there were horrendus - what an insult to the paying public
(d) we had to leave the hotel to get into the night club, even though I'm sure there had to be an internal access and were told by the party organiser that we could bring our drinks with us but some were stopped when leaving the hotel and others were refused entry to the night-club with their drinks BUT THEN WHEN THEY CONFIRMED WE WERE RESIDENTS we were allowed bring our drinks in.
(e) the food was beautifully presented but was very bland.
(f) the hotel may have the facilites to have warranted a 4 star rating but the current quality is definitley not 4 star.

Please be aware that Carrick-on-Shannon is hen & stag central and this is obviously the market that this hotel caters to but I believe that if you are an independent traveller that this may not be your best option,

Room Tip: Room 114 was to front and side of hotel and was quite noisy as it was close to the road where entran...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AchillIslandMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear AchillIslandMayo,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at The Landmark Hotel. We truly appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive as it is only through customer feedback that we can improve our existing offering, so again many thanks for providing us with same.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for the kind words you had to say regarding the party you attended on night in questions, as you said when we spoke on the phone, the birthday boy really enjoyed the night and we are delighted by this fact, we take great pride is satisfying our guests.

We would like to apologise to you as we are aware that the décor of your room and the noise from the night club affected your stay with us a negative way. As previously discussed we would be happy to welcome back to the Hotel in the near future when we will ensure that your room is located away from the club entrance.

Again many thanks for your feedback and thank you also for taking my call, it was a pleasure to speak with you and please be assured that all of the issues you raised will be addressed by the appropriate manager.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for one night, excellent quick check-in and out with Tricia, very friendly and answered all my many questions! Room small but very clean and lovely river view. Room very warm but easy to manage heating system and windows opened. Breakfast was wonderful also.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GerMar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear GerMar77,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Landmark Hotel. We are always happy to receive feedback and we were delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable experience at The Landmark.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and feel that this is something that is reflected in our staff and your praises have been shared with the front desk. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location to see Leitrim. We had a room over looking the Shannon River. Enjoyed several delicious meals in the restaurant. The breakfast room is one of the prettiest we have seen. The
tourist office is near by and the bus from Dublin stops out front.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithfamily-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Smithfamily-12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide The Landmark Hotel with a review. We are indeed very centrally located and the hotel makes an excellent base camp from which to explore Carrick-on-Shannon and the surrounding areas. We were very pleased to learn that you also enjoyed the food in our award winning Boardwalk Café. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for one night on the 3rd of January, and it was just amazing! I made a request on booking with the receptionist after a long Christmas at work (I think her name was Trish) and straight away she told me she would take care of me, I didn't expect what I got I felt like a VIP! Gorgeous hotel, outstanding room, very impressive bar, lovely breakfast, the other two receptionists I dealt with on check in (blonde) and check out (brunette) were so pleasant as well, I'm so sorry I can't remember their names. I'm a hotel receptionist myself and I really think the whole thing was first class, I've recommended it to 3 of our own guests travelling up that way already! Would definitely stay again, but I think I'd have to do it for more than 1 night next time I think!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Laura,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind words and very positive review. We at The Landmark Hotel pride ourselves on providing top quality service to all guest and please be assured your praises have been pass onto our front desk team of Trish, Fiona and Rachel.

We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for recommending The Landmark Hotel to your hotel guests as a great place to stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a meal with a group of people from the locality for New Years Eve 2013/14. We ate in the bar area and had a table for 12. The meal was pretty good and enjoyed by all with pretty attentive staff given the fact that it was a busy evening. I had the goats cheese and sea bass which was very good. Most of the others in the party had caesar salad and either a steak sandwich or a home made burger. All of which got the thumbs up from the rest of the group. All in all an enjoyable evening. Would I go back ? Answer: Yes

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review after your recent meal at our award winning Boardwalk Café. We are delighted to learn that you and your entire group enjoyed your dining experience with us; your complements have been passed along to the kitchen and Boardwalk team.

We would be happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well done once again to the staff of the landmark. Lovely friendly service, warm hospitably welcome. Food excellent, service top class, highly recommend for anyone interested in having a wedding here. Top class all around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbt.ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear cbt.ie,

Thank you so much for your high praise, your kind words have been passed along to the wedding team, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are delighted that you were impressed by our food, service and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
3.4 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
874 reviews
22.4 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,260 reviews
22.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel

Address: Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $128 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Carrick On Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing