We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, great location.”
Review of Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bush Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, great location.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our first time to stay in Carrick-On-Shannon and we'll certainty be back. This hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of everything and nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. Annette got us a lovely room at the last minute and we loved the coffee shop which means guests can still avail of their breakfast if they prefer to have an extra hours sleep. Every Hotel should have one:))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    79
    34
    11
    20
See reviews for
54
83
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here a few times. Not too bad but last time I stayed I had an unpleasant interaction with a very rude receptionist. One bad egg can give a bad impression of a place. Breakfast was nice. Room wasn't too bad. Tv was a bit small, bathroom decor seemed a bit dated. I don't usually write reviews but my last interaction made me feel strongly about it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at The Bush Hotel when in Carrick-on-Shannon recently can only say it's a fine hotel. The service was excellent, the room (in the newer addition towards the back,) was huge, and the hotel pub was a very pleasant spot for the few pints I had there. Unfortunately I did not eat in it, so I cannot vouch for the food. All in all, though, I would not only reccommend the Bush, but would stay there again if I ever find myself back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanquhar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our Company held a Conference in The Bush Hotel recently. We had a group of 22 persons, for 1 Night B&B in the Hotel for our 2 Day Conference/Training.
The Owners and their Staff were so courteous, pleasant and always on hand for assistance.
The Bedrooms were Spotless and the Food was Superb! 5 Stars To Both!
The Facilities provided for our Conference/Training Programme were second to none and as I was one of the persons from our Company whom assisted in Booking the Hotel, the cost of our Conference was extremely competitive. The State of The Art, A.V. & Sound System available were Top Class, and the Owners had all our Requirements, including Teas/Coffees, Sandwiches & Finger Food, all Freshly Served to our Group of 22, throughout the 2 days.
I will be recommending The Bush Hotel to All my Friends and other Companies for Business or Leisure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a fabulous night in this hotel. Our room was so spacious even though it was a family room double bed and 2 single beds and big bathroom it. So if you were with a family you would have plenty of space in it there was just the two of us. We had a wonderful meal in the bar restaurant the food was simple and so tasty and the girl serving us was so friendly and seemed to be jack of all trades. Good value for the money. When we returned at night after having a few drinks up the town the night porter was simply divine he was so helpful and gave us drinks at the bar and made us coffee such a nice man. The breakfast in the morning was really good and we have stayed in quite a few hotels over the years this was a superb breakfast and hot again the staff were so nice.

Room Tip: Our friends got a lovely big room it had its own sitting area and a fire just wonderful think it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

...it was probably the second worst. I imagine this is what it's like living in a penal institution.

Room 34 has a number of issues:

- the total lack of curtains
- the fact that it's over the smoking area of the residents bar (noise until 5:30 AM)
- the complete lack of water pressure in the shower
- the general grottiness of the room
- if you bring a cat, don't expect to be able to swing it

On the upside, the sheets were clean and the staff were friendly, but it's not enough for me.

Room Tip: anything but Room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmmceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a hen party in Carrick on Shannon recently, there were 23 in our group and all of us were so delighted with this hotel and its location being so central to evrything. It had amazing service with fantastic food, the rooms were so spacious and clean, the friendliest staff who were so helpful in suggesting different places to go, it made the experience so enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending or booking this venue to anybody looking to stay in Carrick on Shannon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.2 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
15.8 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Hotel

Property: Bush Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bush Hotel, Carrick on Shannon is a charming award winning boutique Hotel with open fires, themed lounges and bars, coffee shop and restaurant, chic bedrooms along with extensive and flexible conferencing and banqueting facilities seamlessly blending modern day living with old world charm. The Bush Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character with many memorabilia from the past. Ideal location in the town centre of Carrick on Shannon just off the main Dublin to Sligo Road (N4) close to all amenities with the River Shannon just a short stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Hotel Carrick On Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing