We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Warmth & hospitality superb"”
Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A gem like Clenahoo house is a rarity. Welcomed with Pots of tea, cake & bickies in Deirdre & Noels sitting room we could have chatted all night, Noel kindly drove us in to town. The hosts were so accomodating & what they do is done to perfection, it is clear they do this for the love of meeting people & giving more than receiving. Tastefully decorated rooms with comfortable beds & peaceful surroundings. The breakfast was so delicious with the big bowl of fresh mixed berries , greek yogurt, cereals, warm scones,brown bread, croissants, the jumbo full irish we didn't need to eat again until evening! I cannot recommend highly enough as has to be experienced to fully appreciate. The prices charged are so reasonable & the experience worth so much more, I feel priviledged to have met such a truly caring couple!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are searching for the warmest, most beautiful and enchanting accommodations in Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland, look no further. Deidre and Noel were the most inviting hosts we have ever met! It is hard to find the words to adequately describe the lengths these warm people took to make us feel at home. Do yourself a favor and book some rooms as soon as you can...and beat the rush!!!

Room Tip: Be the first to reserve a room...you get the biggest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Clenahoo for 4 days whilst visiting my family. As my mother was in hospital during my visit it was an anxious time. Deirdre and Noel made my stay as relaxing as it could possibly be.
I was greeted with a very warm welcome and a wonderful cup of tea. The accomadation was immaculate with the addition of peace and quiet.Breakfast was beautifully presented with immense variety of fresh local produce.My only regret was not staying longer . I will be making a return journey and can not recommend Clenahoo House highly enough .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWRIGHT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for one night at Clenahoo House as we were meeting friends the next day. Noel and Deirdre were fantastic hosts, friendly and welcoming. The house was spotless and well laid out, with great parking facilities (motorcycle friendly too!) Our room was a double - again, spotlessly clean, with loads of storage and very comfortable. We enjoyed the Craic with Noel and Deirdre over a couple of glasses of wine that evening and were even treated to an impromptu harmonica recital from Noel! The breakfast would put many a large hotel to shame, the food was plentiful in quantity and variety, beautifully cooked and presented, setting us up for a good day's traveling. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer! All in all, exceptional value for money and recommended thoroughly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norn_Iron_Newlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Clenahoo House for 3 nights for a wedding. On arrival Deidre was very welcoming. The room was lovely - clean and comfortable. During the stay our hosts couldn't do more for us; they went far and above what they needed to do. They ironed our clothes for the wedding, they dropped us into town as we didn't have a car, even though it was only a lovely 20 minute walk back into Carrick. On the day of departure not only did Deidre drive us to the train station but she also had made a packed lunch as we left too early for breakfast. This is a superb B&B with perfect hosts that will make your stay all the better. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizbit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! Deirdre and Noel invite you right into their home, make you feel welcome and comfortable, and provide you with wonderful suggestions of things to do and see while in Carrick. Deirdre is a wonderful hostess and is quick to offer tea, coffee, cakes and biscuits. She has the best french toast in Ireland! Noel's jokes will leave you laughing and he will even drive you into town and drop you off at a restaurant or a pub! If you get a chance, take a ride with him on the Moon River Cruise along the River Shannon. You get history, music, stories, all with a wonderful view! Thanks for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My parents came over to visit myself and my partner in Dublin for a week. We decided to spend 2 nights in Carrick On Shannon, Co.Leitrim. I am delighted we found this wonderful B&B, Clenahoo house. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and comfortable and enjoyed piping hot tea, fresh cakes in the kitchen and engaging conversation. Our double en-suite room was extremely spacious and clean. My parents en-suite double was also the same. We were kindly offered a lift in to town by Noel and we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Oarsman. The next day we availed of a scrumptious breakfast and spotless service. We went out for the day to Arigna mines (a must see) and another lovely meal in the town. On our departure the next morning we treated ourselves to the AMAZING pancakes and headed off. Noel and Deidre are truly wonderful hosts and this is an A1 rating from all of us. Thank you once again. We will definitely be back! Melanie & Allen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
526 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing