We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Bran House

Lough Bran House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Bran House
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just returned to England,whilst touring Ireland and we stayed at Lough Bran House for 2 nights,and we were amazed at the welcome we received,Alan& Aileen are fantastic,the room we had was spotlessly clean and warm and cosy,as the weather was not too good,and when we came down in the morning for breakfast,there was so much to choose from,cereal,yogourts,fruit,juices,and a FULL IRISH BREAKFAST,and Alan catered for my wife who is Vegetarian,with a big plate of Tomatoes&Mushrooms on Toast.
We have stayed in several B&B`s in our time but LOUGH BRAN HOUSE,will never be beaten for Hospitality,Friendlyness,Clean Rooms.And I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to my family and friends and anyone. And we are looking forward to staying longer wih Alan&Aileen in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the Apartment Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

At late notice, Alan And Aileen took our booking. The house was immaculate, with a lovely view, beautiful gardens, our every detail was catered for. The couple were so welcoming and helpful, breakfast was superb. Was almost half the price of room only in a hotel in the town centre. Cannot recommend this place enough, and would look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Myself and my partner booked Lough Bran House in Carrick-on-Shannon 3 weeks in advance of our planned Friday night stay there. We had a wedding to attend in a beautiful venue 20 miles away on the Saturday afternoon. As we were driving from Munster we felt that it would be a convenient place to stay in relation to hairdressers and beauticians in Carrick-on-Shannon for the morning of the wedding.The gentleman Alan whom owns this B&B was very pleasant when he took our booking, and we were confident that we had our trip planned. On the Friday evening we rang the B&B in advance of our departure from home, to explain that we would be there no later than 10.30pm as we had a 4 hour trip ahead of us and had been working in our respective firms till 6pm. The rude, obnoxious and unprofessional manner in which the owners wife Aileen spoke to me on the phone left me in shock. She made it clear that she was "going out" and had no intention of accommodating us or even suggesting alternative places to stay, She in fact hung the phone up on me. We were left with nowhere to stay in an incredibly busy little town which was hosting 4 weddings at the weekend , and we were left with the almost impossible task of finding somewhere to stay, Alan did ring to apologise for the situation an hour and a half later. Although it was most definitely to avoid a bad review rather than out of sincerity. However, he stated that it "would put him out " to have to leave their evenings festivities in order to let us in. And "would do so if we were REALLY stuck." Considering their un-professionalism and seemingly lack of both business knowledge and manners was the reason we were "stuck, " I felt utterly unsatisfied with his attempts to remedy the situation. And would not have stayed there if it was the last place in the town. I would strongly advise all potential visitors to this beautiful little town to avoid like the plague this B&B which is unreliable and completely unprofessional in its operations. I am not the type of person whom runs onto trip advisor to complain about accommodation. In fact I have never used it before to review somewhere. Although, I do use it from time to time when booking hotels, and feel that this is a place that people really need to be aware of to avoid!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IlovetoTRAVEL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Myself and various members of my family have stayed in Ireland 6 times in the last 4 months and Lough Bran and it's hosts Alan and Aileen is the best we have found. Lovely comfortable, warm rooms and great food. Alan and Aileen went out of their way to make us welcome. Will be back and would recommend anyone to stay here. Jackie, Nottingham

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here on my first visit to Ireland. Could not have found a nicer friendlier place to stay. Alan and Aileen made me feel so welcome and as I was a single traveller this was very important to me. food and accommodation excellent. would recommend this B&B to anyone. i will be going back again in August.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was by far the best B&B I have stayed in in Ireland. The hosts are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the breakfast was perfect. Excellent value, I will definitly be back. Jo, Bristol

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great accomodation, very welcoming and friendly, immaculately clean, comfortable bed and great breakfast. Ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.9 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.2 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#18 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riversdale Farm Guesthouse Ballinamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Bran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Bran House

Property: Lough Bran House
Address: Loughton House Loughton House Loughton House Farnagh, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lough Bran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing