We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tierneys Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 50 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at Tierney's Guesthouse for five nights in April. The staff were so welcoming and made us very comfortable. This is an old guesthouse in the centre of Kinsale, as such the rooms are small and cosy. They are nicely decorated and the staff keep them very clean. The beds are so comfortable that you hardly want to leave them.

The staff are so friendly and do all they can to help and make you feel at home.

We had a great time and were very pleased with this well appointed, clean and friendly guesthouse.

Room Tip: As this property is in the centre of Kinsale, rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
21
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Location very good breakfast excellent rooms clean but very very small service only average very noisy at night night club just down from it rooms over priced would nt recommend it will not be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corathornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. A very friendly B&B in a great location and offering real value for money. The breakfast in the cafe next door was fantastic - probably the best bacon I've ever tasted! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have just returned from our trip to Kinsale where we stayed in Tierneys guesthouse and have nothing but good to say about the place. The price was very reasonable and it is located in the heart of Kinsale on the main street. The room was small but very clean with facilities such as tea-making and a hairdryer. The highlight of our stay there was the friendly member of staff we met on our arrival-Caroline was very helpful, she recommended a lovely place to eat and pubs to go to after our meal, we really felt well taken care of, she assured us that she would be around if we needed anything. Looking forward to returning here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived at this guesthouse without reservations and were kindly allowed to see the room prior to checking in. The rooms are more up to date than one would expect upon entering the property. However, the bathrooms could use a good scrubbing, as there was quite a bit of mold in the shower and the towels smelled of cigarette smoke.
That said, the location of the property is absolutely perfect, in the center of it all & within walking distance of a pay-car-park.
The next morning, when walking into the adjoining Lemon Tree restaurant for breakfast, we couldn't believe our eyes - it was like a "breakfast dream" come true. The beautiful restaurant and food were enough to make us forget about the room's shortcomings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudolphNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here with a friend during a weekend away in December 2012.

We were greeted by Caroline (or Carolanne?!) who was so welcoming and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean and in a great central location.

Beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel room and our room was more than adequate for the two of us (three single beds). I was a little concerned that it may be noisy at night being opposite a bar, however we never noticed the noise and it was no problem whatsoever.

Caroline and her colleagues provided plenty of recommendations for eating and drinking, and very kindly called a restaurant for us to reserve a table for us.

Breakfast in the Lemon Leaf was excellent, plenty of choice and hearty portions.

Our stay at Tierneys was really made by the staff, Caroline in particular was helpful and friendly and really went out of her way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at Tierney's this past week. The room was small but very quaint and efficient, nice shower and linens provided. Breakfast at the Lemon Tree was excellent and the staff was great about providing recommendations during our stay. Location could not be better, directly in the middle of Kinsale and walking distance to anything you would want to do. Lovely stay in Kinsale!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 50 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 50 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#10 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierneys Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierneys Guesthouse

Property: Tierneys Guesthouse
Address: 70 Main Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tierneys Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tierneys Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierneys Guesthouse Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing