We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special find”
Review of Crackpots Restaurant - CLOSED

Crackpots Restaurant
Price range: $14 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A great hidden gem where the locals hangout,great seafood, ie lobsters, scallops and black sole, great irish beef all produce sourced locally. even the plates are made by us.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Special find”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We just walked past the Crackpots and found ourselves drawn inside. We made our way to the garden where we met a lovely French gentleman who beckoned us in and the day got better. This was a lunchtime adventure... wine, cheese platter and crab claws were the order of the day. Tucked away out the back was this magical little garden where the food and wine was of the highest quality. A relaxed feeling, so if your in a rush move on. This is a place to relax, taste and soak up quality food. We were there for hours and really enjoyed every moment. Priced very reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DubArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    85
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place for seafood in a lovely little town”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Kinsale is a gorgeous little town full of colourful buildings, pubs with live music and nice shops. Locals recommended Crackpots as we like fish and seafood and we weren't disappointed. It's not particularly cheap but it seemed to be good value and the food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FandP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in everyway!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I were visitng Kinsale and stopped in for lunch, We truly enjoyed our lunch, it was best Fish Chowder, I have ever had. followed by Amazing Prawns. Very lovely place and very nice service, Highly Recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janmlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We went back for more!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We popped into Crackedpots for a light lunch our first day in Kinsale and enjoyed the food as much as the friendly owners so we reserved for dinner the following evening. Dinner was delicious as was the dessert. The atmosphere was lively and the jazzy piano player created an almost Parisian feel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very yummy moules frites and quiche with a nice crisp Chablis. Warm attractive space with friendly attentive service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackpots Restaurant also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing