We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmosphere was amazing”
Review of Crackpots Restaurant - CLOSED

Crackpots Restaurant
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A great hidden gem where the locals hangout,great seafood, ie lobsters, scallops and black sole, great irish beef all produce sourced locally. even the plates are made by us.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“atmosphere was amazing”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

fab setting, fab staff, fab food, good wine, couldnt fault crackpots went with a friend who lives close by and the fact that everyone took the time to say hello everyone most welcoming cant wait to go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naturopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    85
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
1 review
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had the pleasure of dining here again with my wife and one year old. We chose the early-bird menu and were not disappointed. Have come to expect the very best when dining here and always receive great treatment. Fantastic food, super service and child friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oonersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, FL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Delicious food, gracious hostess, handmade pottery by owner, lovely ambience!! We arrived early and missed the piano music.
Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed really”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend trip in the beautiful Kinsale.

We ate at Crackpots on Fri night, having booked because of the high ratings on tripadvisor. The food was nice but it just wasn't anything special. The food arrived roasting, which is normally a good thing, but my steak was bland and my friend couldn't taste the chorizo in her chicken. I have a horrible feeling it had been popped in the microwave before serving.

Service was pleasant but slow. We had finished our starters before our drinks arrived and when our drinks were finished we weren't offered anything further.

Maybe it was an off night, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We popped into Crackpots en route to dinner, and within minutes I was asking staff if they were open for lunch the following day... The amazing aroma of food hits you when you walk in, followed by the cosy surroundings. Candles on the tables, piano situated to the edge of the room, friendly staff smiling with a big hello. We could only stay for a cocktail (or two - the house speciality is too good not to have two!) but we are already making plans to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wander_Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackpots Restaurant also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing