We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disaster.”

Fishy Fishy Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 77 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kinsale restaurants are really high quality, great food, great atmospheres, great chefs you cant really go wrong with a choice in this town. Except for this one, fishy fishy 'which used to be good. I dont know what has happened but on the evening we went the food was dreadful. I had a 'caesar salad' starter which I felt tempted to instagram as a joke. A few lettuce leaves , four croutons (I counted) a bit of dressing and parmesan powder. That was it. The ingredients must have cost a few cents, but as it turned out, this was the best dish! My fellow diner had a "seafood chowder" which was disgusting. A bitter aftertaste and quite inedible. We sent it back and the waitress suggested that as we weren't used to having a chowder with tomato and dill in it , we didn't like it . But no. It was just horribly flavoured and the chef should not have allowed it out of the kitchen. We had a side of chips which were dry and overcooked and calamari rings which were just OK., slightly on the soggy side. We asked for the bill, the waitress took the chowder of the bill for us and was very pleasant but the bill was still high for such a disastrous meal. The only upside is the Cocktail Bar above the restaurant which is fabulous with amazing balcony and great views of the harbour.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peta o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 3,456 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're going to Kinsale, Ireland, check out other restaurants with good reviews. Fishy Fishy is crowded, and our wait staff largely ignored us. The food was overcooked by a mile. Some dishes were poorly seasoned. We wish we had ignored the tour books and instead, had asked our B&B hosts for their recommendations. This restaurant gets good reviews, so perhaps we were there on one of those bad nights that many restaurants have. But it was the next to worst place we dined in while in Ireand.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Europeantraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in after a long day of traveling to the highly recommended Fishy fishy... we waiting a few minutes to be greeted at the door to an almost empty restaurant at and we’re told without reservations we were looking at at least 30 minute wait. Ate down the street and went home.

There were literally 3 seated tables on the entire restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Cris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently had dinner in fishy fishy restaurant and had a beautiful dinner. Martin Shanahan greeted us personally. Staff were very helpful and friendly and above all food was fabulous. Would definitely recommend it

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mkmy2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the salmon with veggies and side of fries. Very good. Packed so that indicates a good place to eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kevlor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy Restaurant also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing