We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun cafe to visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Fishy Fishy Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TAYLORSVILLE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun cafe to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was a restaurant we planned to visit since we had seen it many times on travel shows. The staff was great. The food was very good but pricy! We ate there for lunch so there was no wait time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kakubah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    618
    355
    144
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and enjoyed it in the past. However this time round I found the choice very limited. For a fish restaurant I was surprised to find no sea bass, no flat fish of any type, and no oysters on the menu.

Quality and presentation of the food was just ok. It does feel like this restaurant is living off its past reputation. Price of the food and especially of the wine did not represent great value for money.


Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Heard a lot about fishy fishy. The food is average and overpriced on a positive the staff are excellent

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikeq64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only Ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We arrived at around 2-3pm on Saturday and got the seats straight away, which was a surprise as I heard so much of this restaurant being super busy all day long! We ordered seafood chowder (tomato based), which was ok, but it wasn't what I expected to be (cream based). Only few chunks of fish was in it (no other seafood whatsoever), so I actually have eaten nicer ones elsewhere. For main we got "surf & turf" scallops & "Pan Seared Yellow Fin Tuna". Scallops were only ok, wouldn't order it again. However, tuna stake was amazing! So I bet if I have ordered something else instead of scallops this review would have been a bit different.
Must mention that the waitress was very attentive and polite. Loved the atmosphere and interior too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosy898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe, new mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fine food, quirky service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is the second time I've eaten here. First June 2013, lastly Aug. 2014
Make a reservation, they seem to be very popular ! The food is great by Irish standards (not trying to downplay Irish food, I lived there in the 1970's so I have a tainted frame of reference ) But the waitstaff are somehow a bit quirky, perhaps overworked.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susantodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy Restaurant also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing