We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily caught the closing days in November!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloisters Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
740 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
“Happily caught the closing days in November!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ahh! The Closters B&B where Aileen is a sweet and genteel delight, a little shy in a very nice way but welcoming, and Orla is peppery funny, not a little shy in a very nice way, extremely and insightfully helpful. Both have hearts of gold in our estimation and we were so fortunate to spend a little time with them. they are true Irish treasures.

The ladies greeted us with a lovely cuppa for my wife and coffee for me with some of the best soda bread this side of America :). We headed out on the streets after unpacking and made one important wrong turn on the quayside road, heading in the opposite direction from intended until a car with those two angels pulled over next to us and set us right, as they'd seen us from the hill well above heading the wrong way.

Our room was cozy comfortable and perfectly suited our needs, and the breakfast in the morning for myself was a welcome change of pace after the delightful fresh fruit happily common to our trip. I had a delicious bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon (aka lox), with my wife choosing the delicious and light pancakes with maple syrup. The coffee was of wonderful quality and I couldn't resist more great muesli/granola Irish style as well as a bit more raisin/ sultana soda bread.

It's so easy to see why The Cloisters, so centrally convenient, yet on a quieter Friars Street opposite a church, run beautifully by its wonderful hostesses, is ranked number one in Kinsale. We'd go back (easy choice) for a second stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    23
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
218
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were among Orla and Aileen's last guests for this fall. The room was great. The recommendations for dinner matched what we wanted. The advice for activities were detailed and helpful. Oh, and breakfast was wonderful. When we left something in the room at checkout they called around town to find us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill01890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our hosts Orla and Aileen could not have been nicer.
We were welcomed like friends. The rooms were very high standard. The food was exceptional they went out of their way to accommodate my dietary requirements (which are tricky).
The location is perfect within walking distance of everywhere.
I can't wait to go back see you soon Orla and Aileen. Thank you for making our stay perfect, Vicki

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for the aternate jazz festival in Kinsale. Absolutely wonderful welcome when we arrived - I felt like I had gone to stay with friends.

Food to a high standard; rooms spotlessly clean.

I will definitely stay there again as I do intend to go back for the festival (friends permitting).

Orla and Aileen -thank you so much.


Joan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First of all, let me say that I mistakenly booked our stay for the wrong month! My wife and I were on our honeymoon and driving across Ireland. We arrived at Cloisters to find out that I had actually booked our stay for August instead of July... this could have been a big problem, but Aileen and Orla made some changes to accommodate us. We went from being very stressed to being delighted with this bed and breakfast, the town, and most of all, the people. The room was the best, brightest, and nicest we stayed in during our whole trip. The location was perfect and within walking distance of every major attraction. The food was tremendous. But as I said, what really made it stand apart was the hospitality and helpfulness of Aileen and Orla. When we first arrived they outlined everything that would be fun to do in Kinsale, made great recommendations for restaurants, bars, nightlife, tours, and everything else. They were by far the nicest owners that we came across in our trip, and that is saying something because everyone was very nice.

To conclude, if you are staying in the beautiful town of Kinsale, you must stay at at Cloisters!

-Michael and Liz

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpb103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Cloisters B&B offered us a great stay. The location is perfect; easy walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, pubs, yet just off the main street where it is a little more quite. Our room was nicely decorated, extremely clean and comfortable. We slept very well and appreciated the plush towels provided for our shower. The owners were very warm and friendly and offered us great recommendations for the area. Breakfast was very good and I especially loved the tea brack! Truly a lovely B&B. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a beautiful place, clean and inviting, and a convenient walk to everything we wanted to see. Aileen and Orla were wonderful hosts. They took such good care of us with suggestions for places to eat as well as places to see as we headed out of town. This included calling ahead to the next town where we planned to go and making reservations for us at a B&B there, and even offering to help us with a flat tire on our rental car. The breakfast was fantastic.After a sleepless night on a trans-Atlantic flight, and driving from Dublin that day, it was heavenly to settle in to their cozy rooms and comfortable beds and get a much needed good night's sleep. I couldn't recommend the Cloisters more highly and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloisters Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloisters Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloisters Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Cloisters 2 Friars Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cloisters Bed And Breakfast
Cloisters Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing