We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit is never long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We were here two nights and occupied the two end rooms upstairs. The corner room with balcony is spacious and just as described. Our corner room opposite is more cozy but still easy to get around. The bed is firm and very comfortable. The linen and duvet felt wonderful. The weather right now is temperate with warm days and cool nights, we had a window open at night. I couldn't quite hear the waves but the view is so tranquil and lovely. There is a bedside table with lamp on each side of the bed. A long table held the TV and tea making supplies with lots more room to put our things. The double closet is small but just right for our clothes and had a shelf above the hanger. There are outlets easy to reach beside the bed and just above the table. There is a nice mirror in the room and also the bathroom. The bathroom is adequate size, great shower, large towels. My only complaint is I didn't like the motion detecting light coming on every time you enter or even walking by the door. Great ocean view from bathroom too.
Breakfast is large, varied and delicious. Mary assigns times so that everyone doesn't show up at 8:30. She didn't mind that we came early and had the cold breakfast items. We had a lot to see and limited time. Our only regret is we didn't have more time to simply stay and enjoy this wonderful B&B. Location was what we wanted and it's about 15 min to Kinsale if you don't get lost. The other couple with us enjoyed having a pub in the B&B. We all loved talking to Mary and the warm friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed in 2 rooms for one night.
the rooms were very clean and comfy.
the breakfast was excellent !!!
the location of this B&B was great. from your window you can see the ocean and that was wonderful.
they have a bar on the first floor so thats a big plus due to the fact that its not in the city.
very worth the monney.

Room Tip: prefer ones with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The sea views from our room was breathtaking! In fact the views from everywhere on the property were sensational. The room was neat and tidy and very comfortable. Mary our host was very friendly and only to keen to help with our questions. Breakfast was a great way to start the day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Consider staying outside the bustle and noise of Kinsale at this B&B on a rise overlooking Garrettstown beach 10 km southwest of Kinsale near the Old Head peninsula.

The hosts have owned and managed this clean and comfortable facility of 9 rooms and 2 self-catering accommodations for 28 years. The bar provides an opportunity for a relaxing drink while watching the sun shimmering on the ocean.

As with most B&B’s in Ireland, credit cards are accepted, there is no air-conditioning and the wi-fi is free. There is ample free parking at the facility.

A slightly challenging walk, down to the water’s edge to watch the waves crash on the rocks, adds to the ambiance of this location. On the horizon across the bay the lighthouse on Old Head winks reassuringly in the night. The Speckled Door bar/restaurant is a 2 km drive along the beach road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front second floor (first, in Europe) provide an ocean view. Noise is not a problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms were comfortably appointed. Beds comfortable. All amenities including cable tv and free WiFi. Beautiful setting overlooking the beach. Beach within walking distance. And ask about the path that takes you down to the cliffs just below the hotel. Only a 1/4 mile walk and breathtaking views. Staff were pleasant and so helpful with suggestions of places to see and eat. If my itinerary wasn't so tight, I would have stayed an extra night or two simply because I enjoyed Blue Horizon so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark45231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We love the blue horizon, the view is amazing and the sence of relaxation is over whelming.
We love it here. The kids love it also we do beach activities with Stephen when we are here The surf camp is a must, gtown surf school. Totos for pizza and diva in ballinspittle is a must for cake.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right above the water, so you get some pretty spactacular views of the ocean. The rooms are very nice, entirely relaxing. Its a quick walk down to the water, which I would totally recommend people jump in the ocean, its a family friendly beach too. Best part about this B and B for me is that there is an attached bar to it. Basic selection of stuff, but perfect for the location. It seems like a bit of a locals hang out, so if you just sit back and listen, it gets pretty interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
965 reviews
4.9 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#10 of 53 in Kinsale
56 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Address: Garrettstown, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing