We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a visit with "Mom and Dad"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Bakery
Ranked #8 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hillsdale, nj
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Like a visit with "Mom and Dad"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night with Tom and Chris in their charming home in Kinsale. It reminded me of coming home from college where my room was neat and clean and breakfast was prepared. The location is perfect, right in the heart of town. They are truly lovely people who take pride in what they do. The room was a "classic" bedroom and en suite bathroom (shower only) but was spotless. Breakfast was delicious (especially Chris's homemade scones!) It's the perfect stopover on the way to Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    48
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
145
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved our stay with Tom and Chris. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was amazing. My son continued to talk about our stay for the rest of our vacation - he compared everything to his stay at their B&B. They treated us like family and it will remain one of our favorite memories of Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved having breakfast here. The food was delicious, but what we really enjoyed was the way Tom and Chrissie interacted with us throughout the meal. We got in late and didn't have any cell service to call and let them know. I think they were surprised to see us as they assumed we were a no show. We were on the third floor which is a little bit of a climb, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Kinsale was difficult to navigate by car, but an enjoyable city to walk around. Location was fabulous once we found it. Chrissie came out and showed us where to park our car. Lily the dog was very sweet and child friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggimcc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our dream is now to return here with our children and grandchildren and take over the place. Rooms are cozy and comfortable. Tom and Chrissie both give great tour and restaurant recommendations. Chrissie's scones at breakfast are to die for. The ambiance is exactly what we were looking for in Ireland. Ireland should award Tom and Chrissie a PR medal. What great representatives they are for a culture!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Chrissie and Tom are fabulous hosts. We were treated like family and warmed by the shared stories and laughter. Our room was lovely, and quiet; breakfast was great and we loved being in the heart of their home while dining.
We hope to be able to return soon and often.

Room Tip: Make your reservation early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPoortvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Chrissie and Tom treated us and the other guests like visiting friends and relatives rather than like paying customers. We have established a life-long connection with them. The room was pleasant and quiet, and breakfast was the best we had in Ireland. It was a wonderful and varied spread. Chrissie's homemade scones and brown bread were memorable. We plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

what can I say about the lovely Tom and Chrissy, such Irish Charm and a warm welcome for Husband Clive and I on our trip around Ireland on our Motorbike ,Room was lovely and the breakfast was simply lovely,huge choice of everything ,and Chrissies Home made scones yummy,a great safe lock up for our bike too, very impressed with everything, I would highly recommend this place , one day we will return ,was like saying goodbye to an old friend when Chrissy waved us off ,thank you both for a delightful stay in your lovely home

Michelle and Clive, UK

Room Tip: secure lock up for bikers, helped us to relax knowing it was safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerchickWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#34 of 55 in Kinsale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bakery

Property: The Olde Bakery
Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olde Bakery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing