We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home”
Review of The Olde Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Bakery
Ranked #10 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We hated to leave Tom and Crissie's home, so we booked another night! Our room was clean and comfy. Great bathroom. Best part (other than spending time with the Quigleys) was the breakfast they set out every morning. Amazing. Recommend scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Delicious breads. The honey was provided by Tom's bees. Yep, he's a beekeeper (and retired policeman). Very interesting and delightful people. They provided excellent tips on where to go and what to see (and where to eat)!
The Finsteads

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 270 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is just a lovely place to stay.....Chrissie and Tom are absolutely wonderful hosts and could not have made us feel any more welcome. The room was spacious and clean, with plenty of room to put our luggage.

Breakfast was around a large kitchen table with the other guests...all freahly cooked. Really lovely, it was nice to hear about the travels of the others.

Would not hestiate to recommend...we will definatlye stay there again in we return to that part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved our stay at The Olde Bakery! Kinsale is a wonderful town and Tom and Chrissie Quigley made us feel at home. The home-cooked breakfast was served in their kitchen like we were family. It was delicious and generous. The coffee was great as Chrissie noted her daughter told her "not to be mean" with the coffee!" Meaning it was full-bodied and tasty - not caramel colored hot water! The room was clean, sweetly decorated and comfortable with a great location and easy walk to everything in town. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Check in on 11th November 2012. The room is average but the hospitality of Mr and Mrs Quiley is unbelievable. The breakfast was great. A lot of choices. Near to the town. Parking could be a problem . The location is in the town

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiun Wen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Olde Bakery for one night in early October and absolutely loved it. Tom and Chrissie were great hosts and an adorable couple. They really invited us into their home, cooked an amazing breakfast, and provided us with a lot of helpful information about the area. When we go back to Kinsale, we are definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Olde Bakery B&B one night Oct 4 2012 on our trip (first time visit) around S Ireland. We had the first floor room facing front (street). We are value travelers, not especially young, looking for good price, clean, central location so can walk to area attractions.
Quigley's; are friendly and helpfull; food good, especially Tom's bee's honey! Room was good size and clean, did not hear any noise from street. While the room is right off front door, "upstairs guests" use a side door so we never heard them come or go.

Communal breakfast table encourages conversation with other guests. e actually ran into one of the breakfast groups at Rock of Cashel. You do have to park on street. Overall Olde Bakery was the most charming of the three B&B's we stayed at in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConradConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 2 happy nights with the Quigleys. They were 2 of our best nights of our whole trip. The BEST breakfast - all local suppliers and Chrissie's TLC. Comfortable parlour. We loved eating at the big table in the kitchen. And Chrissie made sure we took enough for lunch as well. Try for the ground floor room - big and comfy. We'll be back to Olde Bakery next trip!

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
992 reviews
0 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
0 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#37 of 52 in Kinsale
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bakery

Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $79 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olde Bakery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing