We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivermount House B&B
Ranked #9 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our first stop on our 17 day excursion through Ireland. This B&B is on the outskirts of Kinsale, but well worth the drive. We were welcomed by Martin who showed us to our rooms. The only reason for not giving it excellent is the lack of bathtub rails and slick tile floor with a very difficult stepdown. I fell twice, in the shower and again while stepping out on to the floor. They were extremely helpful in supplying ice for ice packs; however, nearly a year later I continue to feel the effects of the fall(s). I hope they have made additional security provisions for these issues. Other than this the food was incredible, the house was warm and inviting, the beds extremely comfortable and the proprietors (Claire and Martin) were warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 469 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was my first and one of my best B&B experience in all of Ireland. Clare and Martin (the owners) are wonderful people, very friendly and accommodating. This house is stunning on the inside and out. Great Style. The view is absolutely amazing. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would recommend the maple pancakes. I will definitely stay here when I go back to Ireland. Kinsale is a very cute and quaint town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megatalkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed at 3 other places in Kinsale (1 hotel and 2 other B&Bs) and this is head and shoulders above those other places! 8 of us women from the U.S. on a 2-week jaunt around Ireland spent 2 nights here in August, and each and every one of us wished we were staying here longer! It's just a short 5-minute drive away from the traffic-choked heart of Kinsale, and the setting is truly beautiful and serene, overlooking the Bandon River. Claire and her husband Martin are the quintessential hosts, and their wonderful dog, Charlie, remains at Rivermount House only because he wouldn't fit in my suitcase! Their daughter was sleeping over at a neighbor's so we didn't get to meet her. The house has been recently redecorated and is truly stylish and welcoming. Can't say enough good things about this B&B and am very anxious to return.

The en suite (with power showers) bedrooms are beautifully appointed, very comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast is excellent with a number of tempting choices.

Complimentary wi-fi is a plus, and there is ample parking. There is seating on the lovely patio area in front of the home with a panoramic view of the river and surrounding countryside -- very peaceful and welcoming. In the words of Gen. McArthur, "I shall return!"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My dad and I just spent the October Bank Holiday weekend (3 nights) in the Rivermount House in Kinsale. From the moment I picked up the phone to make the booking to Claire to the moment we left after our 3 day stay I almost felt like a member of the family. Firstly our welcome was very warm, in fact it was Claire's mother Theresa, who welcomed us like long lost family and we started chatting immediately. The room was spacious and overlooked the river, well worth the extra spend. Our daily breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and the service excellent. There is plenty of space to sit in the hall overlooking the river and a spacious living room with an open lit fireplace which we used one night. We were given plenty of advice of where to go and book for dinner and they were so helpful, nothing was too much. We go to a lot of B&Bs around Ireland, but this visit was so special that we'll do our best to return soon again, in particular also because Kinsale is simply a GEM of a place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly and obliging hostess. Plenty of public rooms to meet others or be on your own. Well furnished bedroom with nice en suite. Great view of the river below, from the public rooms and our room on the ground floor. Very nice breakfast with interesting choices of hot food. Great recommendations for cafés and a Physio in town. Finding the location? No problem with Google maps. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor avoids stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent two nights with two friends over bank holiday weekend. Stay here if you want to be away from hustle and bustle of kinsale. I slept better than I have in a long time due to the peaceful surroundings and comfy bed. Hosts v friendly, breakfast delicious, loved the decor- room spotless. Kinsale town only short drive which suited us just fine and for our night out the hosts booked us a taxi into town no problem. Would definitely recommend it as really enjoyed my stay in this cosy and comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate1980ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

At first, we were a little disappointed to find that this B & B was about 1.5 miles outside of the city center. However, it is a beautiful home with gorgeous grounds overlooking the water. The home has a warm and cozy but updated modern decor. Our hosts were playing beautiful, soft Irish music in the background and we had a gorgeous night for stargazing away from the city lights. They had a wonderful selection of foods for breakfast. Our hosts were warm, cordial and very helpful with tips for the next part of our journey. I only wish we had booked at least two nights here instead of just the one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphillips_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermount House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount House B&B

Address: Rivermount House Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $35 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the scenic river, Rivermount House completed a total upgrade and refurbishment in 2008. It offers four-star quality at affordable rates. We feature classic mahogany furniture, heavily embossed wall coverings and exquisite soft furnishings, which have all resulted in creating an ambiance of luxury comfort and style. With a classy polished marble foyer, this accommodation feels more like a boutique hotel but with the personal attention and traditional warmth of a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rivermount House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivermount House Hotel Kinsale
Rivermount House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing