We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivermount House B&B
Ranked #13 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This was the first B&B on our trip to Ireland which honestly isn't quite fair to the others we stayed at afterwards. Claire and Martin were wonderful! Claire was happy to give us recommendations for dinner and entertainment as well as attractions and directions. We had plans to see some attractions we weren't sure about and Claire helped us decide by giving us details of each attraction. Martin was always quick to call us a taxi into town in the evening as we didn't want to drive and the taxis were always there within minutes. Our room was quite nice and I thought the decor was lovely and tasteful. There was a tub and a shower which was great. Breakfast was super yummy! I had the pancakes both days. They are different from US pancakes; more like a crepe and I don't think I'll want to eat American bacon ever again! It just doesn't compare! After all our hotels being in town, it was nice to get out into the country. I didn't mind the ride into town at all and Kinsale is absolutely darling! My one and only complaint is the Wi-Fi was flaky at best but in the end it didn't matter; I was on vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 469 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This home was absolutely beautiful! It was out of town about 10-15 min drive and we did have a hard time finiding it. But, once there, the views are fabulous! Plan on eating before you get there, or make your plan ahead of time regarding food since there are no eateries nearby. You need to drive back into town which can be a hassle, but worth it! The breakfast was made to order and we loved it... more than you can eat with fresh fruit, fresh breads, full breakfast, and pancakes too. There were 3 adults in our room and it was perfect - my husband and I had a king bed and my sister had a separate closed off room but was still attached to ours. I would definitely recommend staying here. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in but found it worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful home a couple kilometers out of the town of Kinsale. We could easily have stayed longer, the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed we stayed in for the 10 days we were visiting Ireland. Our hostess was lovely and gracious, the dining room is stunning, breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. A definitive A++ on our B&B hopping of the country.. would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Ireland. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: If driving your car and easy 5-10 minutes from town which is what we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janecappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rivermount House in Kinsale, although a few kilometres beyond the town, is a lovely retreat. None of the attractions of the town are far away. We stayed 2 nights in a beautifully presented room with ensuite overlooking the river. Everything about Rivermount is first class. Breakfast was excellent; owners and staff were most helpful and the whole tone of the place was most welcoming and relaxing. Couldn't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A bit far out of town, a couple of miles. Taxi cost €10-€13 a trip depending on time of day. Nice locations and views, very tranquil. House itself is modern but quite resonant so if you don't want to be woken by early risers, bring earplugs. The house is large and modern celtic tiger decor, lots of black white and golds, modern furnishings. Nothing quaint or old irish about this place. We didn't hang out in the main lounging area. The bedroom was nice, roomy, clean and well finished. Nice tilt and turn windows. Same for bathroom. Had a nice bath. Breakfast was nice and tasty, hosts and staff were very nice and attentive, breakfast served up to 10am. Nice scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. We got this as a last minute deal and instead of fleecing us, we got a discount on the internet rate. So, absolutely fine over all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grayzer2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

All round excellent - room was huge , great view , great breakfast , bit far out of town but hey it's quiet then ! Wonderful hosts - perfect - not cheap at 100 euro a room - but it's worth it - you'll pay 79 for crappy 4 stars in Dublin , no expense spared on your room - tea - fesh scones - buns all day - wine cooler - tea coffee downstairs all day - place to stay -

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D8Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We so enjoyed our recent stay. Had a group of eight & Claire & staff accommodated us all very comfortably. Spectacular view, lovely rooms/bathrooms & the morning breakfast was
delicious...especially like the salmon scrambled eggs. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
992 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermount House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount House B&B

Address: Rivermount House Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: $37 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the scenic river, Rivermount House completed a total upgrade and refurbishment in 2008. It offers four-star quality at affordable rates. We feature classic mahogany furniture, heavily embossed wall coverings and exquisite soft furnishings, which have all resulted in creating an ambiance of luxury comfort and style. With a classy polished marble foyer, this accommodation feels more like a boutique hotel but with the personal attention and traditional warmth of a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rivermount House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivermount House Hotel Kinsale
Rivermount House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing